Language: English
Zermatt. No matter what
 

*Zermatt / Matterhorn

You are here: _ Home _ Zermatt / Matterhorn _ In the midst of 38 4000

In the midst of 38 4000

Zermatt was discovered in the middle of the 19th century, in the golden age of high alpinism. Almost one-third of all the 4,000 metre peaks in the Alps are grouped around the village, which has been visited by mountaineers from all around the world since the first ascent of the Matterhorn in the year 1865. A myth was born at that time: the names of Zermatt and the Matterhorn became known all around the world, and Zermatt was regarded as the Mecca of the mountaineers.

And it has remained so up to the present day: more than 3,000 alpinists climb the Matterhorn every year, which is several time more than all the other 37 summits combined. But every summit around Zermatt has its individual character, its history, its myths. Learn about all our beautiful mountains on this page!


The Matterhorn is more than a wonder of creation. Through its shape and its unique solitary position, it is considered to be the epitome of a mountain. But there’s even more: there is no better-known mountain in the world whose natural shape comes as close to a pyramid as the Matterhorn. The pyramid shape symbolises the link between nature and culture, landscape and history. As a result of enormous forces, Africa moved closer to Europe 100 million years ago, and the ocean between the two continents began to recede.
more >>


The Allalinhorn (or Allalin) is one of the easiest and popular 4,000-metre peaks in the Alps, because the Metro Alpin runs to just below the summit at almost 3,500 m a.s.l., and the summit itself can be reached from the mountain station in about two hours. The summit is located in the Mischabel ridge (Mischabelkamm) between the Saastal and Mattertal valleys, and is part of the Allalin group, which also includes the Alphubel, the Strahlhorn and the Rimpfischhorn. The Allalinhorn is a white peak between the mountaineering metropolises of Saas-Fee and Zermatt. As if from a cockpit, you can overlook almost the entire Western Alps from the Allalinhorn.
more >>


The Alphubel is a summit of the Mischabel massif. From its eastern side, starting from Saas Fee, it stretches out as a huge, glaciated hump with an extended summit plateau, and has the shape of a trapezium. It is easy to climb from this side, even on skis in the spring. From the west, however, it presents a rock wall, with two significant ridges that reach towards the summit plateau. The rock wall is up to 700 m high, with ribs and ridges leading steeply to the summit that require extensive rock climbing know-how and skill.
more >>


Is Zermatt surrounded by 38 4,000-metre summits or only 29 ? On the Balmenhorn, you will learn that it’s not so easy to make your mind up. This 4,167-metre high summit of the Balmenhorn lies on the Italian side of the Monte Rosa Massif, which has nine clearly defined peaks. The Balmenhorn is on the list of the so-called extended 4,000-metre summits.
more >>


Das Bishorn befindet sich oberhalb von Zinal und bildet zusammen mit den Diablons den Nordrand der Dent-Blanche-Decke. Es befindet sich in unmittelbarer Nähe des Weisshorns und ist zweigipfelig. Vom Westgipfel hat man einen eindrucksvollen Blick auf den Weisshorngrat, dessen Verlängerung das Bishorn darstellt. Die Besteigung von der Cabane de Tracuit über die Nordwestflanke zum Ostgrat zählt zu den leichtesten Viertausenderrouten der Alpen.
more >>


The Breithorn is a mountain crest with multiple peaks and a large number of glaciers. The western summit is the highest, but is also considered to be the easiest to climb. The middle and east summit and the Breithorn Twins form a chain towards the east. The most easterly summit, which marks the end of the Breithorn, is the Schwarzfluh (Roccia Nera). The border between Valais and the Autonomous Region of Aosta and the main chain of the Alps runs over the Breithorn, which also represents the regional water and meteorological divide.
more >>


Castor (Italian: Punta Castore) is one of the two peaks known as the “Twins”, and is situated to the south-east of the similar-looking, but smaller, Pollux to the north-north-west. Castor lies between the Breithorn and the Monte Rosa, and its rocky summit is slightly to the south of the national frontier, and is thereby in Italy.
more >>


The Dent Blanche is one of the more demanding 4,000-metre mountains for alpinists. Together with the Obergabelhorn and the Zinalrothorn, the mountain forms the southern end of the Val de Zinal. The German-French language border runs through here. The Dent Blanche is a powerful, largely ice-free pyramid with four ridges in all four cardinal directions. The Dent-Blanche cabin at 3,507 m.a.s.l. is the highest located SAC cabin in Switzerland. 1,700 metres of altitude must be overcome on the ascent alone.
more >>


The Dent d’Hérens lies to the west of the Matterhorn, and is linked to it by a four kilometre long ridge. The approaches are long from all sides. The East Ridge is actually one of the longest in the Alps. You will have to undertake a long hike to take a look at this 4,000-metre mountain, because the Dent d'Hérens is very isolated. It can be seen, however, on the way from Zermatt to Schönbiel via Zmutt.
more >>


The rocky Dirruhorn is the last summit of the Nadelgrat Ridge, lying to the north-west of the Mischabel range. It forms the isolated end point of the ridge and, unlike the other four summits of the Nadelgrat ridge, is seldom climbed – one reason, among others, being that the corn snow has melted away in recent years and there is a danger of falling rocks.
more >>



Zermatt Tourismus | Tel +41 27 966 81 00 | info@zermatt.ch

Langue: Français
Zermatt. No matter what
 

*Zermatt / Mont Cervin

Vous êtes ici: _ Home _ Zermatt / Mont Cervin _ Au cœur de 38 4mille

Au cœur de 38 4mille

Zermatt fut découvert au milieu du 19e siècle, à l'époque des pionniers de l'alpinisme de haute montagne. Presque un tiers de tous les 4000 mètres que comptent les Alpes sont groupés autour du village dans lequel se rendent des alpinistes du monde entier depuis la première ascension du Cervin en 1865. C'est à cette date qu'est né le mythe de Zermatt et du Cervin, des noms qui firent le tour du monde, consacrant cet endroit comme la Mecque des montagnards.

C'est ce qu'est resté Zermatt jusqu'à aujourd'hui – plus de 3000 alpinistes font l'ascension du Cervin chaque année, et beaucoup plus celle des autres 37 sommets. Et chacun des sommets autour de Zermatt a son caractère, son histoire, sa légende. Découvrez ici toutes nos montagnes!


Le Cervin est plus qu’une merveille de la nature. Par sa forme et sa position isolée, il symbolise la force brute de la montagne. Mais il est plus encore : il n’existe aucune montagne au monde dont la forme naturelle est une pyramide aussi parfaite que celle du Cervin. La forme pyramidale symbolise le lien entre nature et culture, paysage et histoire. Il y 100 millions d’années, d’énormes mouvements de compression des plaques tectoniques rapprochent l’Afrique et l’Europe. L’Océan situé entre les deux continents commence à se retirer. 50 millions d’années plus tard, les masses rocheuses commencent à se déformer et à se plier.
plus >>


L‘ Allalinhorn (ou Allalin) est l’un des 4000 les plus faciles des Alpes parce que le métro alpin monte jusqu’à presque 3500 m, rendant le sommet accessible en deux heures à partir de la station supérieure. Le sommet se trouve dans le massif des Mischabel entre Saastal et Mattertal et fait partie du massif des Allalin comprenant également l’Alphubel, le Strahlhorn et le Rimpfischhorn. L’Allalinhorn est une coupole blanche qui se dresse entre les deux métropoles de l’alpinisme Saas-Fee et Zermatt. Au sommet de l’Allalinhorn, la vue s’étend sur la quasi totalité des Alpes occidentales.
plus >>


L‘Alphubel est un sommet du massif des Mischabel. Vu du côté Est, de Saas-Fee, il ressemble à un trapèze et se présente comme un énorme dôme glaciaire avec un long plateau qui rejoint le sommet. Son ascension est facile par ce versant et peut se faire à ski au printemps. Vu de l’Ouest, il se présente comme un mur rocheux avec deux arêtes marquantes qui s’étirent jusqu’au plateau sommital. La paroi rocheuse peut faire jusqu’à 700 m de haut, les arêtes montent en pente abrupte jusqu’au sommet et leur ascension exige un bon niveau d’escalade.
plus >>


Zermatt est-elle entourée de 38 ou de 29 sommets à 4000? Au Balmenhorn, vous verrez qu’il n’est pas si facile d’en décider. Le sommet du Balmenhorn qui se dresse à 4167 m est situé sur le versant italien du massif du Mont Rose qui comprend neuf 4000 clairement identifiés. Le Balmenhorn est inscrit sur la liste élargie des 4000.
plus >>


Le Bishorn se dresse au-dessus de Zinal et forme avec les Diablons la frange nord de la couronne de la Dent Blanche. Située à proximité directe du Weisshorn, c’est une montagne à deux sommets. Du sommet ouest, la vue sur le Weisshorngrat, dont le Bishorn est la prolongation, est impressionnante. L’ascension par le flanc Nord-Ouest jusqu’à l’arête Ouest est l’une des courses les plus faciles des Alpes pour accéder à un 4000.
plus >>


Le Breithorn est une chaîne de plusieurs sommets recouverts de glaciers. Le sommet occidental est le plus haut mais le plus facile à gravir du point de vue technique. Vers l’est s’alignent le Breithorn central et oriental ainsi que le Breithornzwillinge. Le sommet le plus oriental qui termine le massif du Breithorn est la Roche noire.
plus >>


Castor (en italien: Punta Castore) est l’un des deux sommets dits „jumeaux“. Il est situé au sud-est du Pollux, d’apparence semblable mais moins haut, au nord-nord-ouest. Le Castor est situé entre le Breithorn et le Mont Rose. Le sommet rocheux du Castor se trouve en Italie, légèrement au sud de la frontière suisse. Les jumeaux Castor et Pollux sont séparés par le Zwillingsjoch (en italien: Passo di Verra, 3'845 m).
plus >>


La Dent Blanche est l’un des 4000 les plus difficiles techniquement. Avec l’Obergabelhorn et le Zinalrothorn, elle se trouve à l’extrémité sud du Val de Zinal. C’est ici que passe la frontière linguistique. La Dent Blanche est une pyramide imposante, exempte de glace dont les quatre arêtes se dressent en direction des quatre points cardinaux. La cabane de la Dent Blanche à 3507 m est le plus haut des refuges CAS de Suisse. Pour y accéder, une longue marche d’approche de 1700 mètres de dénivelé doit être réalisée.
plus >>


La Dent d’Hérens est située à l’Ouest du Cervin auquel elle est reliée par une arête de quatre kilomètres de long. Son ascension est longue de tous les côtés, l’arête Est comptant même parmi les plus longues des Alpes. Pour apercevoir ce 4000, une marche est nécessaire car la Dent d’Hérens est très cachée. Mais on peut la voir sur la route de Zermatt à Schönbiel en passant par Zmutt.
plus >>


Le Dirruhorn, pic rocheux, est le dernier sommet du Nadelgrat, situé en direction Nord-Ouest du massif des Mischabel. Il est le point le plus reculé et on en fait rarement l’ascension, contrairement aux quatre autres sommets du Nadelgrat – notamment parce que son névé fond depuis peu, ce qui augmente le risque de chutes de pierres.
plus >>



Zermatt Tourismus | Tel +41 27 966 81 00 | info@zermatt.ch