Breithorn

The Breithorn, near Zermatt, is a heavily glaciated mountain crest with several peaks. Many budding mountaineers choose this for their first 4,000-metre summit.

Description

Height
4,164 m

First ascent
13 August 1813

First climbed by
Henry Maynard, Joseph-Marie Couttet, Jean-Baptiste Erin, Jean-Jacques Erin, Jean Gras

Tip in the village

  • Zermatlantis, the Matterhorn Museum: reliefs, photos

Tips for visitors

  • Matterhorn glacier paradise: observation window towards the Breithorn
  • Matterhorn glacier paradise: observation platform (photo point)
  • Visitors can watch the rope teams on the Breithorn

Tips for hikers

  • Matterhorn glacier Trail, Schwarzsee - Trockener Steg
  • Zermatt - Furi

Tips for mountaineers

  • The easiest 4,000-metre peak in the Alps
  • Accessible in 2 hours from Matterhorn glacier paradise (cable car station)
  • Mountain guide necessary
  • Pure glacier trek

Broad and beautiful
“Breit” means “broad”: a fitting description for this mountain crest with multiple peaks, which extends for more than two kilometres. The western summit is the highest, but is also considered the easiest to climb. The middle and east summit and the Breithorn Twins form a chain towards the east. The most easterly summit, which marks the end of the Breithorn, is the Schwarzfluh (Roccia Nera). The border between Valais and the Autonomous Region of the Aosta Valley runs over the Breithorn. The peak also forms part of the main ridge of the Alps, which is both the regional watershed and meteorological divide.

Origin of name
The Breithorn received its name from the canon Josef Anton Berchtold due to the remarkable breadth of the mountain. The naming of the mountains around Zermatt made great progress thanks to Berchtold. He was responsible for the appearance of a number of traditional Zermatt names on the Dufour map, the oldest official map of Switzerland.

Stories about the Breithorn
Zermatt mountain guides describe people who they could guide with a good conscience only on the Breithorn as “Breithoru-Liit” (Breithorn people). In July 1995, the Zermatt mountain guide Ulrich Inderbinen climbed the Breithorn and the Allalin more than a dozen times. He was 95 years old at the time. After a harmless fall on the return from the Breithorn, Inderbinen ended his 70-year career as a mountain guide in the summer of 1995.

Reading
“Ulrich Inderbinen: as old as the century”, by Heidi Lanz/Liliane De Meester, published by Rotten Verlag, CH-3930 Visp, 1997. Available in English, German, French.

Map

Please enter your starting address here

Breithorn

Le Breithorn de Zermatt est une crête aux multiples sommets et principalement recouverte de glace. De nombreux alpinistes de passage optent pour ce sommet lorsqu’ils souhaitent gravir leur premier 4’000 mètres.

description

Altitude
4'164 m

Première ascension
13 août 1813

Premiers alpinistes
Henry Maynard, Joseph-Marie Couttet, Jean-Baptiste Erin, Jean-Jacques Erin, Jean Gras

A voir au village

  • Musée du Cervin Zermatlantis: reliefs, photos

Conseils pour les promeneurs

  • Matterhorn glacier paradise: fenêtre panoramique sur le Breithorn
  • Matterhorn glacier paradise: plateforme panoramique (sites photo)
  • Observation des cordées sur le Breithorn

Conseils pour les randonneurs

  • Matterhorn glacier Trail, Schwarzsee - Trockener Steg
  • Zermatt - Furi

Conseils pour les alpinistes

  • Sommet de 4'000 mètres le plus facile des Alpes
  • Accessible en 2 heures depuis la station de montagne Matterhorn glacier paradise
  • Guide de montagne indispensable
  • Marche sur glacier au superlatif

Large et beau
Comme son nom l’indique ("Corne large"), le Breithorn est large. La crête de plusieurs sommets s’étend sur plus de deux kilomètres. Le sommet occidental est certes le plus haut mais aussi le plus facile à gravir du point de vue technique. Vers l’est s’alignent les sommets central et oriental ainsi que le Breithornzwillinge. Le sommet le plus oriental qui termine le massif du Breithorn est le Schwarzfluh (Roccia Nera). La frontière entre le Valais et la région autonome d’Aoste traverse le Breithorn et la crête alpine principale qui marque la séparation régionale des eaux et du climat.

Origine du nom
Le Breithorn fut ainsi dénommé par le chanoine Josef Anton Berchtold à cause de l’impressionnante largeur de la montagne. La dénomination des montagnes de Zermatt a beaucoup progressée grâce à Berchtold. C’est également grâce à lui que certains noms cités dans les récits populaires de la région ont été inscrits sur la carte Dufour, le relevé topographique officiel le plus ancien de Suisse.

Histoires entourant le Breithorn
Les guides de montagne de Zermatt nomment "Breithoru-Liit" (les gens du Breithorn) les personnes que l’on peut guider en toute bonne conscience au sommet du Breithorn. En juillet 1995, le guide Ulrich Inderbinen accomplit l’ascension du Breithorn et de l’Allalin une bonne dizaine de fois. Il était alors âgé de 95 ans. Cet été là, après une chute bénigne à la descente du Breithorn, il met fin à 70 ans de carrière de guide de montagne.

Littérature
"Ulrich Inderbinen – J’ai l’âge du siècle". Heidi Lanz, Liliane De Meester. Allemand, anglais, français. Editions Rotten Verlag Viège, pas de numéro ISBN.

Map

Indiquez ici votre adresse initiale