Pollux

The ascent of Pollux involves a glacier traverse using crampons as well as a rock climb.

Description

Height
4,092 m

First ascent
1 August 1864

First climbed by
Jules Jacot, Josef-Marie Perren, Peter Taugwalder (senior)

Tips for visitors

  • Gornergrat

Tips for hikers

  • Gletschergartenweg (glacier garden trail): Riffelberg - Furi glacier garden
  • Aussichtsweg trail: Gornergrat - Rotenboden
  • Hike: Rotenboden - Riffelberg

Pollux: tips for mountaineers

  • Mountain guide recommended
  • Depending on fitness levels, suitable for single or multiple ascents in the Monte Rosa massif
  • Multi-day trip
  • Medium difficulty

Mountain of rock and ice
Pollux (Italian: Punta Polluce) is one of the two peaks known as the Twins. With a height of 4,092 m, it is lower than its twin brother Castor. Both mountains lie between the Breithorn massif and the Liskamm, with Pollux lying to the north-west of Castor. They are separated by the Zwillingsjoch (Italian: Passo di Verra, 3,845 m). The ascent involves a glacier crossing and climbing on rock.

Origin of name
Pollux is named after one of the Greek twins Kastor and Polydeuces, sons of Zeus. The Latin names Castor and Pollux are used here, however.

The Greek legend
Polydeuces was the son of Leda and Zeus, who appeared to her in the form of a swan. The Ancient Greeks disagreed about Castor’s origin, however. For some, he was the son of Leda and her husband Tyndareos, and was conceived in the same night as Polydeuces. As they were conceived in the same night, they were twins and inseparable, although, as the son of Zeus, Polydeuces was a half-god, while Castor was a mortal. Others believed that, like his brother, Castor was also a son of Zeus.
Both of them took part in the voyage of Jason and the Argonauts in the search for the Golden Fleece, and they also accompanied Heracles on his journey to the Amazons.
The end of the Dioscouroi (sons of Zeus) was initiated by a quarrel started by Castor with his cousin Idas. Idas slew (the mortal) Castor, after which Polydeuces killed Idas’ brother Lynceus. Zeus then intervened by destroying Idas with a bolt of lightning. Being immortal due to his paternity, Polydeuces thereafter mourned his brother, and asked his father to take away his immortality so that he could join his brother in the Land of the Dead.
Moved by so much love, Zeus allowed his son to choose to either remain forever young and to live among the Gods, or to stay with Castor alternately one day in the underworld of Hades (the Land of the Dead) and one day in Olympus with the Gods, and to thereby become older, and to finally die. Without any hesitation, Polydeuces chose the latter and, from then on, travelled between Olympus and Hades with his brother.
Often, however, they are both described as sons of Zeus: both immortal and, together with their sister Helen, also a daughter of Zeus, born from a single egg or as a pair of brothers from a second egg. They were considered the pride of Sparta.

Map

Please enter your starting address here

You might also be interested in

Pollux

Pour atteindre le sommet du Pollux, il convient de s’aventurer sur un couloir d’escalade rocheux, après une marche crampons aux pieds.

description

Altitude
4'092 m

Première ascension
1er août 1864

Premiers alpinistes
Jules Jacot, Josef-Marie Perren, Peter Taugwalder (père)

Conseil pour les promeneurs

  • Gornergrat

Conseils pour les randonneurs

  • Chemin Gletschergartenweg: Riffelberg - jardin des glaciers Furi
  • Chemin Aussichtsweg: Gornergrat - Rotenboden
  • Randonnée: Rotenboden - Riffelberg

Pollux: conseils pour les alpinistes

  • Guide de montagne conseillé
  • Selon la condition physique, idéal pour une ascension simple ou multiple dans le massif du Mont Rose
  • Tour de plusieurs jours
  • Difficulté moyenne

La montagne de roche et de glace
Pollux (en italien: Punta Polluce) est l’un des deux sommets dits "jumeaux". Culminant à 4’092 m d’altitude, il est un peu moins élevé que son frère Castor. Les deux montagnes sont situées entre le massif du Breithorn et le Liskamm, le Pollux s’élevant au nord-ouest du Castor. Ils sont séparés par le Zwillingsjoch (en italien: Passo di Verra, 3'845 m). Pour accéder au sommet, il convient de traverser le glacier et de passer par un couloir d’escalade sur le rocher.

Origine du nom
Le nom de Pollux fait référence aux jumeaux grecs Castor et Pollux, fils de Zeus. Il s’agit de l’appellation latine.

La légende grecque
Pollux était le fils de Léda et de Zeus, qui lui serait apparu sous la forme d’un cygne. Les Grecs n’étaient pas unanimes quant à l’origine de Castor. Pour les uns, il était le fils de Léda et de son époux Tyndare, conçu la même nuit que Pollux. Ils étaient ainsi jumeaux et inséparables. Néanmoins, Pollux, fils de Zeus, était un demi-dieu, alors que Castor était un mortel. Pour les autres, Castor était un fils de Zeus comme son frère.
Les deux frères prirent part à l’expédition de Jason et des Argonautes pour retrouver la Toison d’or. Ils accompagnèrent Héraclès dans sa quête du royaume des Amazones.
La fin des Dioscures résulte d’une querelle entre Castor et son cousin Idas. Idas frappe mortellement Castor (le mortel), Pollux se venge en tuant Lyncée, frère d’Idas. Zeus intervient dans la dispute et foudroie Idas d’un éclair. Mais Pollux, inconsolable à la suite de la mort de son frère, demande à son père Zeus de lui retirer l’immortalité pour rejoindre son frère au royaume des morts.
Touché par tant d’amour, Zeus laisse à son fils la possibilité de choisir: rester éternellement jeune et vivre parmi les dieux ou passer à tour de rôle un jour au royaume des morts avec Castor et un jour au royaume des dieux. Pourtant, s’il choisit la deuxième option, il vieillirait et finirait par mourir. Sans aucune hésitation, Pollux choisit la seconde variante et vécut avec son frère entre l’Olympe et l’Hadès.
Souvent, tous deux sont considérés comme les fils de Zeus, immortels, nés dans le même œuf que leur sœur Hélène, également fille de Zeus, ou comme jumeaux nés d’un deuxième œuf. Ils font la fierté de Sparte.



Map

Indiquez ici votre adresse initiale

Egalement intéressant