Balmenhorn

The Balmenhorn is located on the Italian side of the Monte Rosa massif. A statue of peace made of scrap from the Second World War stands on the summit.

The Balmenhorn is usually tackled along with other peaks of the Monte Rosa massif.
The Balmenhorn is usually tackled along with other peaks of the Monte Rosa massif.

Description

Height

4,167 m

First ascent

17 August 1873 (disputed)
6 August 1875 (certain)

First climbed by
Disputed: Marco Maglioni, Albert de Rotschild with Niklaus Knubel, Peter Knubel and Edouard Coupelin
Certain: Giovanni Mariotti, Andrea Pedretti, Simone Viguey with Welf and David Zaccaria

Balmenhorn: tips for mountaineers

  • Mountain guide necessary
  • Depending on fitness levels, suitable for single or multiple ascents in the Monte Rosa massif
  • Multi-day tour
  • Medium difficulty

Is the Balmenhorn really a 4,000-metre mountain?
Is Zermatt surrounded by 38 mountains above 4,000 m or only 29? On the Balmenhorn, one can see it’s not so easy to decide. This 4,167-metre peak lies on the Italian side of the Monte Rosa massif, which has ten clearly defined 4,000-metre summits. The Balmenhorn is on the so-called extended list of 4,000-metre summits. No wonder: this outcrop has a prominence of only 12 metres, can be climbed via a secured pathway and is difficult to make out visually against the crevasse-ridden Lys Glacier. According to the UIAA (the International Mountaineering and Climbing Federation), there are (1) topographical reasons, (2) morphological reasons and (3) climbing reasons for considering a mountain to be a “real” 4,000-metre summit. But the Balmenhorn has the feel of a 4,000-metre peak – its height alone is enough!

Monte Rosa massif
The Monte Rosa massif has about ten summits higher than 4,000 m: Dufourspitze, Grenzgipfel, Ludwigshöhe, Nordend, Parrotspitze, Schwarzhorn, Signalkuppe, Vincent Pyramid, Zumsteinspitze.

Origin of name
“Balmen” are cave-like overhangs at the foot of cliffs. The word may derive from the language of the Walsers, and is also encountered in Walser regions in Graubünden and the Vorarlberg.

The Balmenhorn, mountain of peace
It is thanks to a four-metre high bronze statue weighing a ton that the rather inconspicuous Balmenhorn has achieved an additional importance related neither to topography, morphology nor mountaineering. It was the solid rock base of this summit that led the Turin artist and partisan leader Alfredo Bai to place his statue, created from war scrap, on the Balmenhorn. During the Second World War, Bai made a vow to place a statue on one of the 4,000-metre summits as a symbol of peace, in memory of all victims irrespective of their nationality. The statue, called “Cristo delle Vette” (“Christ of the Summits”), was dismantled into eleven parts for transport here by 35 mountain soldiers originating from all the provinces of Italy. The raw material for the statue was donated by the Italian Ministry of Defence; the final work was unveiled in a solemn ritual on 4 September 1955.

In 1954, the twin town of the municipality at the foot of the Monte Rosa erected another statue, “Christ of the Abyss”, on the sea bed in the Bay of San Fruttuoso. This project was initiated by Duilio Marcante in memory of Dario Gonzatti, who died in a diving accident in 1950. With the help of the Italian navy, the statue was lowered to the seabed at a depth of 17 metres close to the Abbey of San Fruttuoso, between Camogli and Portofino, on 22 August 1954. The statue of Christ, about 2.5 m tall, was made by the sculptor Guido Galletti; the bronze for the statue was cast from medals, propellers from US Navy submarines and church bells. As a sign of peace, the hands of Jesus are raised towards the surface of the sea. In memory of Marcante, a commemorative plaque was placed on the base of the statue after his death.

Map

Please enter your starting address here

You might also be interested in

Balmenhorn

Le Balmenhorn se situe sur le versant italien du massif du Mont Rose. Une statue symbolisant la paix trône à son sommet. Elle est fabriquée avec des rebuts de la Deuxième guerre mondiale.

Le Balmenhorn est souvent gravi en même temps que d'autres sommets du massif du Mont Rose.
Le Balmenhorn est souvent gravi en même temps que d'autres sommets du massif du Mont Rose.

description

Altitude
4'167 m

Première ascension
17 août 1873 (date contestée)
06 août 1875 (date confirmée)

Premiers alpinistes
Contestés: Marco Maglioni, Albert de Rotschild avec Niklaus Knubel, Peter Knubel et Edouard Coupelin
Confirmés: Giovanni Mariotti, Andrea Pedretti, Simone Viguey avec Welf et David Zaccaria

Balmenhorn: conseils pour les alpinistes

  • Guide de montagne indispensable
  • Selon la condition physique, idéal pour une ascension simple ou multiple dans le massif du Mont Rose
  • Tour de plusieurs jours
  • Difficulté moyenne

Le Balmenhorn, un sommet de 4'000 mètres?
Zermatt est-elle entourée de 38 ou de 39 sommets de 4'000 mètres? Au Balmenhorn, vous verrez qu’il n’est pas si facile d’en décider. Le sommet du Balmenhorn, qui se dresse à 4’167 m, est situé sur le versant italien du massif du Mont Rose, comprenant neuf 4’000 mètres clairement identifiés. Le Balmenhorn est inscrit sur la liste élargie des 4'000 mètres. Rien d’étonnant, car le bloc rocheux, que l’on escalade par un sentier d’escalade sécurisé, atteint une hauteur de 12 mètres. Optiquement, il se détache difficilement du glacier du Lys aux nombreuses crevasses. Selon l’UIAA (Union Internationale des Associations d'Alpinisme), une montagne est considérée comme un "vrai" 4'000 mètres selon trois critères: 1. topographie, 2. morphologie 3. "alpinistique". Mais si le Balmenhorn n’entre pas tout à fait dans cette catégorie, il s’en approche tout de même, ne serait-ce que par son altitude.

Massif du Mont Rose
Le massif du Mont Rose regroupe env. dix sommets surpassant les 4’000 mètres d’altitude: Pointe Dufour, Grenzgipfel, Ludwigshöhe, Nordend, Pointe Parrot, Schwarzhorn, Pointe Gnifetti, Pyramide Vincent, Pointe Zumstein.

Origine du nom
Les "Balmen" sont des surplombs au pied d’une falaise, des demi-grottes qui seraient à l’origine du nom du Balmenhorn. Le terme "Balme" existe dans la langue des Walser du sud (en Greschoneytitsch et en Pumattertietsch). Le dictionnaire de Grimm définit le terme "balma", mlat., de grotte rocheuse. Que le nom tire son origine de la langue des Walser n’est pas clairement prouvé. Ce terme n’est ni utilisé par les Walser occidentaux des Grison, ni à Vorarlberg.

Le Balmenhorn, la montagne de la paix
Si le Balmenhorn a acquis une certaine réputation qui n’est d’ordre ni topographique, ni morphologique ou alpinistique, c’est grâce à la présence à son sommet d’une statue de bronze de quatre mètres de haut et pesant une tonne. C’est la solidité de son rocher sommital qui incite Alfredo Bai, sculpteur turinois et chef des résistants, à placer sur le Balmenhorn sa statue fabriquée avec des rebuts de la guerre. Durant la Deuxième guerre mondiale, Bai jure de poser sur un sommet de 4’000 m une statue symbolisant la paix, en mémoire de toutes les victimes de la guerre, quelle que soit leur nationalité. Les onze morceaux de cette statue appelée "Christ des Sommets" sont transportés par 35 chasseurs alpins venus de toutes les provinces d’Italie. Le 4 septembre 1955, le Christ de la Paix est dévoilé au cours d’une cérémonie officielle. Le matériel nécessaire à sa fabrication a été fourni par le ministère de la défense italien.

En 1954, la ville jumelée de la commune au pied du Mont Rose érige une statue du "Christ des Abysses" au fond de la mer, dans la baie de San Fruttuoso. Ce projet est initié par Duilio Marcante, en mémoire de son ami Dario Gonzatti mort dans un accident de plongée en 1950. La statue est posée à 17 mètres de profondeur le 22 août 1954 par la marine militaire italienne, à proximité de l’abbaye de San Fruttuoso, entre Camogli et Portofino. Œuvre du sculpteur Guido Galletti, la statue de bronze, créée par la fusion de médailles de marins et de sportifs, de parties de bateaux, de cloches et de canons, mesure 2,50 m. En signe de paix, le Christ a les mains et le regard tournés vers la surface de la mer. Une plaque commémorative a été fixée sur le socle de la statue en mémoire de Duilio Marcante.

Map

Indiquez ici votre adresse initiale

Egalement intéressant