Zinalrothorn

The summit of the Zinalrothorn appears to lean to one side and so is unmistakable. The ascent via the Rothorngrat ridge is regarded as one of the finest rock climbs in the Zermatt region.

Description

Height
4,221 m

First ascent
22 August 1864

First climbed by
Florence Crawford Grove, Melchior Anderegg, Leslie Stephen, Jakob Anderegg

Tips for visitors

  • Sunnegga funicular: from Sunnegga, visitors enjoy a superb view of the Zinalrothorn

Tips for hikers

  • Sunnegga - Tuftern - Sunnegga
  • Hike from Zermatt to the Rothorn hut

The crooked peak
The Zinalrothorn lies between the Matter valley and the Val d’Anniviers to the west, just a few kilometres from the Weisshorn and Dent Blanche. Its distinctive summit seems to lean at an angle; the rock is of very good quality. The Zinalrothorn is a classic alpine climbing peak. The Rothorngrat ridge (south-west ridge) is regarded as one of the best rock climbs in the Zermatt area.

Origin of name
The municipality of Zinal, in the Val d’Anniviers, gave the Zinalrothorn its name. Until the advent of Alpine tourism, however, the mountain was known as the Moming, after the Moming Glacier to the north.

The Binerplatte
There is hardly a climbing report on the Zinalrothorn that does not mention the Binerplatte on the south-west ridge. A diagonal fissure leading up and left is secured with pitons, and climbed in a single pitch. It is named after the Zermatt mountain guide Joseph Marie Biner, who was killed in an accident at this spot in 1894 together with a guest.

Map

Please enter your starting address here

You might also be interested in

Zinalrothorn

Le sommet du Zinalrothorn se dresse, incliné, dans le paysage, raison pour laquelle il est reconnaissable entre tous. Son ascension via l’arête Rothorngrat s’avère l’un des plus beaux couloirs d’escalade de la région de Zermatt.

description

Altitude
4'221 m

Première ascension
22 août 1864

Premiers alpinistes
Florence Crawford Grove, Melchior Anderegg, Leslie Stephen, Jakob Anderegg

Conseil pour les promeneurs

  • Funiculaire Sunnegga: la vue sur le Zinalrothorn est la plus belle depuis Sunnegga

Conseils pour les randonneurs

  • Sunnegga - Tuftern - Sunnegga
  • Randonnée de Zermatt jusqu’à la cabane du Rothorn

Le sommet incliné
Le Zinalrothorn se situe entre la vallée de Saint-Nicolas et le Val d'Anniviers plus à l’ouest, à quelques kilomètres du Weisshorn et de la Dent Blanche. Son sommet particulier se dresse, incliné, dans le paysage, le rocher étant d’excellente qualité. Le Zinalrothorn est un sommet classique d’escalade alpine. Le Rothorngrat (arête sud-ouest) est considéré comme l’un des plus beaux couloirs d’escalade de la région de Zermatt.

Origine du nom
La commune de Zinal, dans le Val d'Anniviers, a donné son nom au Zinalrothorn. Mais avant l’essor du tourisme alpin, la montagne portait le nom de "Moming", comme le glacier éponyme situé au nord du Zinalrothorn.

La "Binerplatte"
Il n’existe pas de compte-rendu de randonnée sur le Zinalrothorn qui ne mentionne la Binerplatte de l’arête sud-ouest. Elle se traverse en une longueur de corde au-dessus d’une fissure inclinée en montant à gauche et est sécurisée par des pitons. Elle doit son nom au guide de montagne de Zermatt, Joseph Marie Biner, qui perdit la vie à cet endroit avec un client en 1894.

Map

Indiquez ici votre adresse initiale

Egalement intéressant