Dent d'Hérens

The Dent d’Hérens is not directly visible from Zermatt. One way to see this peak is to walk the beautiful trail from Zermatt to the Schönbiel hut.

Description

Height
4,171 m

First ascent
12 August 1863

First climbed by
Florence Crauford Grove, William Edward Hall, Reginald Somerled Macdonald, Montagu Woodmass, Melchior Anderegg, Jean-Pierre Cachat and Peter Perren.

Tips in the village

  • Zermatlantis, the Matterhorn Museum: relief with mountains and passes such as the Col d’Hérens

Tips for hikers

  • Hike: Zermatt - Schönbiel hut
  • Edelweissweg trail via Höhbalmen

Dent d’Hérens: tips for mountaineers

  • Mountain guide necessary
  • 2-day trip
  • Combined high-altitude tour on rock and ice
  • Long and difficult

Link to the Matterhorn
The Dent d’Hérens lies to the west of the Matterhorn, and is linked to it by a four-kilometre ridge. The approaches are long from all sides. The east ridge is actually one of the longest in the Alps. Visitors need to hike out of Zermatt in order to see this 4,000-metre summit, which lies well hidden: one option is the path from Zermatt to Schönbiel via Zmutt.

Origin of name
The name Dent d’Hérens has been official since the publication of the Dufour Map (1845–1865), and is derived from the name of the Val d’Hérens. There was probably some confusion with the name of the Dent Blanche, because the inhabitants of the lower Val d’Hérens called the mountain Dent Blanche, while the inhabitants of the upper valley called it Dent de Rong or Dent d’Erins.

Col d’Hérens: part of the Patrouille des Glaciers
The Col d’Hérens was one of the most important glacier passes of the Middle Ages. It led to St. Martin in the Val d'Hérens and was the easiest and shortest way from Zermatt to Sion; many Zermatt families had settled in St. Martin. The documented annual processions to the bishop’s see at Sion, undertaken by a priest and eight men, also followed this route. The Little Ice Age led to the abandonment of this pass. Today, the Col d’Hérens lies on the famous Haute Route between Zermatt and Chamonix. During the Second World War, this was completed in a single stage for the first time, in order to test the operational capability of the mountain brigade. Today, it forms the route of the legendary “Patrouille des Glaciers”, the world’s toughest mountain race.

Map

Please enter your starting address here

You might also be interested in

Dent d'Hérens

La Dent d'Hérens ne se voit pas directement depuis Zermatt. Quiconque souhaite découvrir cette montagne peut accomplir la splendide randonnée menant de Zermatt à la cabane de Schönbiel.

description

Altitude
4'171 m

Première ascension
12 août 1863

Premiers alpinistes
Florence Crauford Grove, William Edward Hall, Reginald Somerled Macdonald, Montagu Woodmass, Melchior Anderegg, Jean-Pierre Cachat et Peter Perren.

A voir au village

  • Musée du Cervin Zermatlantis: relief avec les montagnes et les passages de cols, comme le Col d'Hérens

Conseils pour les randonneurs

  • Randonnée Zermatt - cabane de Schönbiel
  • Chemin Edelweissweg via Höhbalmen

Dent d'Hérens: conseils pour les alpinistes

  • Guide de montagne indispensable
  • Tour de 2 jours
  • Conjugue des passages à haute altitude sur roche et sur glace
  • Ascension longue et difficile

Connexion avec le Cervin
La Dent d’Hérens se situe à l’ouest du Cervin auquel elle est reliée par une arête de quatre kilomètres de long. Son ascension est longue de tous les côtés, l’arête comptant même parmi les plus longues des Alpes. Pour apercevoir ce sommet de 4'000 mètres, une marche est nécessaire, car la Dent d’Hérens se dresse dans un endroit très dissimulé. On peut toutefois l’apercevoir de la route menant de Zermatt à Schönbiel en passant par Zmutt.

Origine du nom
Le nom Dent d’Hérens prend un caractère officiel avec l’élaboration de la carte Dufour (1845-1865). Il est dérivé du nom du Val d’Hérens, mais il s’agit probablement d’une confusion avec la Dent Blanche, car les habitants du Val d’Hérens inférieur appelaient la montagne Dent Blanche, tandis que ceux de la vallée supérieure la nommaient Dent de Rong ou Dent d’Erins.

Col d'Hérens: tronçon de la Patrouille des Glaciers
Au Moyen Âge, le Col d'Hérens était l’un des principaux cols de glacier et menait à Saint-Martin dans le Val d'Hérens. Il s’agissait du chemin le plus facile et le plus court pour rejoindre Sion depuis Zermatt. De nombreux habitants de Zermatt s’étaient installés à Saint-Martin. Comme l’attestent les documents d’époque, ce chemin était également emprunté par la procession annuelle jusqu’au siège de l’évêché de Sion qui se composait d’un prêtre et de huit hommes. La petite ère glaciaire entraîna une désertification du col. Aujourd’hui, le col d'Hérens fait partie intégrante de la Haute Route reliant Zermatt et Chamonix. Pendant la Deuxième guerre mondiale, elle fut franchie en une étape pour la première fois, en vue de tester la capacité d’intervention de la brigade de montagne. Ce trajet est aujourd’hui celui de la légendaire "Patrouille des Glaciers", la course de montagne la plus ardue du monde.

Map

Indiquez ici votre adresse initiale

Egalement intéressant