Allalinhorn

The Allalinhorn is one of the easiest 4,000-metre peaks in the Alps to climb, and also one of the most popular. From the summit, climbers see almost the entire sweep of the Western Alps.

Description

Height
4,027 m

First ascent
28 August 1856

First climbed by
Franz Josef Andenmatten, Edward Levi Ames, Johann Josef Imseng

Tips for visitors

  • Gornergrat (cog railway)
  • Matterhorn glacier paradise (cable car)

Tips for hikers

  • “Weg der Stille” trail, Gornergrat - Kelle - Grünsee
  • Kristallweg trail, Rothorn - Fluhalp - Stellisee - Blauherd

Allalinhorn: tips for mountaineers

  • Mountain guide necessary
  • Acclimatisation
  • Glacier trek with little rock
  • Easy

An easy 4,000-metre peak to climb
The Metro Alpin carries mountaineers from Saas-Fee up towards the peaks, to an altitude of nearly 3,500 m. The summit of the mountain is a climb of about two hours from the top station of the funicular. The summit is located on the Mischabel ridge between the Saas and Matter valleys; it is part of the Allalin group, along with the Alphubel, Strahlhorn and Rimpfischhorn. The Allalinhorn is a white dome between the mountaineering centres of Saas-Fee and Zermatt.

The mountain guide Camillo Supersaxo from Saas Fee has climbed the Allalinhorn more than 1,000 times. To celebrate the anniversary, Bishop Eldingen said mass on the summit.

Origin of name
The name Allalin refers not only to the mountain but also to the area to the east of the summit. The origin of the name is disputed. The emphasis at the end of the word suggests a pre-German origin. On the other hand, the name Allalin led the archaeologist and writer Christian Moritz Engelhardt to his “Saracen hypothesis” in 1840, according to which Saracens in the 10th century left behind a series of names in the Saas valley and as far as the Simplon area. Engelhardt specifies the name as Alalain and traces this back to the Arabic “ala ain” (at the spring).

Another explanation comes from the year 1976. The writer Jules Guex cited a letter from Johann Ulrich Hubschmied, which derived the name Allalin from the Celtic “akarnos” (“maple”). A diminutive, “agarinus”, gradually evolved into “agalin”, which means “small maple” in the Valle Verzasca. This became “ayalin” in the Saas valley, which was not yet Germanised, from which Hubschmied constructed the hybrid form “all’ayalin”, later made into Allalin by the Alemannic settlers. This theory, too, is not widely accepted. Without any historical proof, no definitive explanation exists.

Story of the first ascent
In 1828, Heinrich Michaelis and a guide crossed the Allalin Pass and thereby opened up the route to the south-west ridge. The first ascent of the Allalinhorn via the same ridge only took place 28 years later. On 28 August 1856, the parish priest Johann Josef Imseng from Saas-Grund and his manservant Franz Josef Andenmatten led the Englishman Edward Levi Ames to the summit.

Today’s normal route, the north-west ridge, was first used on 1 August 1860 by Franz-Josef Andenmatten, together with Sir Leslie Stephen, F. W. Short, Frederick William Jacomb, C. Fisher, Moritz Anthamatten, Peter Taugwalder and Johann Kronig. The Bernese high school teacher and historian Heinrich Dübi ascended the summit via the difficult north-east ridge on 27 July 1882 with the guides Alphons and Peter Supersaxo, and then descended via the Hohlaubgrat ridge. This represented the first crossing of both ridges.

The Hohlaub ridge was conquered as an ascent for the first time five years later, on 12 July 1887, by the Englishmen Harold Ward Topham and C. H. Redall and the guide Aloys Supersaxo. A year earlier, Aloys Supersaxo and the Briton C. A. C. Bowlker were the first to climb the south face, a grade IV climb.

The first winter ascent of the Allalin was by the Swiss mountaineer R. Bracken, climbing solo, in 1907. The first ascent on skis was on 17 April of the same year by A. Hurter und Max Stahel, both from Zürich, together with the local mountaineers Othmar and Oskar Supersaxo.

Map

Please enter your starting address here

You might also be interested in

Allalinhorn

L’Allalinhorn est le sommet de quatre mille mètres le plus facile à gravir et le plus fréquenté des Alpes. Depuis le sommet, la vue s’ouvre sur la quasi totalité des Alpes occidentales.

description

Altitude
4'027 m

Première ascension
28 août 1856

Premiers alpinistes
Franz Josef Andenmatten, Edward Levi Ames, Johann Josef Imseng

Conseils pour les promeneurs

  • Gornergrat (train de montagne)
  • Matterhorn glacier paradise (train de montagne)

Conseils pour les randonneurs

  • Chemin Weg der Stille, Gornergrat - Kelle - Grünsee
  • Chemin Kristallweg, Rothorn - Fluhalp - Stellisee - Blauherd

Allalinhorn: conseils pour les alpinistes

  • Guide de montagne indispensable
  • Acclimatation
  • Marche sur glacier avec peu de rochers
  • Facile

Sommet de 4'000 m facile à gravir
Le métro alpin conduit de Saas-Fee au sommet, à env. 3’500 m d’altitude. A partir de la station de montagne, le sommet est accessible en deux heures. Il se trouve dans le massif des Mischabels, entre les vallées de Saas et de Saint-Nicolas, et fait partie du massif des Allalin, comprenant également l’Alphubel, le Strahlhorn et le Rimpfischhorn. L’Allalinhorn est une coupole blanche qui se dresse entre les deux métropoles de l’alpinisme Saas-Fee et Zermatt.

Le guide Camillo Supersaxo de Saas-Fee est monté plus de 1000 fois au sommet de l’Allalinhorn. Pour fêter sa 1000e ascension, l’évêque Eldingen tint une messe au sommet.

Origine du nom
Le nom Allalin ne désigne pas seulement la montagne mais toute la région qui s’étend à l’est, en aval du sommet. L’origine du nom est très controversée. L’accent tonique sur la dernière syllabe laisse d’une part supposer qu’il est d’origine pré-germanique. D’autre part, Christian Moritz Engelhardt, archéologue et homme de lettres, attribue, en 1840, le nom Allalin à "l’hypothèse des Sarrasins" selon laquelle ceux-ci auraient laissé, au Xe siècle, toute une série de noms dans la vallée de Saas et jusque dans la région du Simplon. Engelhardt propose l’étymologie Alalain, de l’arabe "ala ain" (par-delà la source).

Une autre explication est proposée en 1976. L’écrivain Jules Guex se réfère à une lettre de Johann Ulrich Hubschmied qui prétend que le nom Allalin vient du celte "akarnos" (‘érable’). Le diminutif "agarinus" s’est ensuite peu à peu transformé en agalin, mot qui signifie ‘petit érable’ dans la vallée de la Verzasca. Dans la vallée de Saas encore non germanisée à l’époque, il se serait transformé en "ayalin", mot à partir duquel Hubschmied construit la forme hybride "all’ayalin", pour devenir enfin Allalin après l’invasion des Alamans. Mais cette hypothèse ne fait pas l’unanimité non plus. Faute de documents historiques, aucune explication claire n’existe.

Histoire de la première ascension
Le col de l’Allalin est franchi pour la première fois en 1828 par Heinrich Michaelis et un guide, ouvrant ainsi la voie vers l’arête du sud-ouest. La première ascension de l’Allalinhorn par cette même arête n’est réalisée que 28 ans plus tard. Le 28 août 1856, le prêtre Johann Josef Imseng, originaire de Saas-Grund, et son valet Franz Josef Andenmatten guident l’Anglais Edward Levi Ames jusqu’au sommet.

La voie pratiquée aujourd’hui, par l’arête nord-ouest, est ouverte pour la première fois le 1er août 1860 par Franz Josef Andenmatten, accompagné de Sir Leslie Stephen, de F. W. Short, de Frederick William Jacomb, de C. Fisher, de Moritz Anthamatten, de Peter Taugwalder et de Johann Kronig. Heinrich Dübi, professeur et historien bernois, accomplit l’ascension jusqu’au sommet avec les guides Alphons et Peter Supersaxo par la difficile arête nord-est le 27 juillet 1882, avant de redescendre par l’arête du Hohlaub. La première ascension des deux arêtes était donc simultanée.

L’ascension de l’arête du Hohlaub est réalisée cinq ans plus tard, le 12 juillet 1887, par les Anglais Harold Ward Topham et C. H. Redall, accompagnés par le guide Aloys Supersaxo. Un an auparavant, Aloys Supersaxo et l’Anglais C. A. C. Bowlker avaient réussi la première ascension de la face sud, dont l’escalade présente une difficulté de niveau IV.

La première ascension en hiver de l’Allalin est réalisée en solitaire par le Suisse R. Bracken en 1907. Les deux zurichois A. Hurter et Max Stahel réussissent avec Othmar et Oskar Supersaxo la première ascension à ski le 17 avril de la même année.

Map

Indiquez ici votre adresse initiale

Egalement intéressant