Language: English
Zermatt. No matter what
 

*Zermatt / Matterhorn

Dent Blanche (4,357 m.a.s.l.)

The Dent Blanche is one of the more demanding 4,000-metre mountains for alpinists. Together with the Obergabelhorn and the Zinalrothorn, the mountain forms the southern end of the Val de Zinal. The German-French language border runs through here. The Dent Blanche is a powerful, largely ice-free pyramid with four ridges in all four cardinal directions. The Dent-Blanche cabin at 3,507 m.a.s.l. is the highest located SAC cabin in Switzerland. 1,700 metres of altitude must be overcome on the ascent alone.

Origin of the name
It is very likely that there was some confusion between the names of the Dent Blanche (White Tooth) and theDent d'Hérens, which is only visible from a very few places in the Val d'Hérens. And the mountain is not as white as the name suggests – it is almost ice-free. The Dent Blanche is actually also shown at the location of the Dent d’Hérens on some old maps. The confusion is not surprising, because the first cartographers, who had not had too many good experiences with the mountain people, often produced their maps from afar. The confusion is further exacerbated by the fact that, in the middle of the 19th century, the Dent d’Hérens was known as the Dent Blanche by the inhabitants of the front of the valley, and as the Dent de Rong or Dent d’Erins at the other end of the valley. A German name for the Dent Blanche is no longer used nowadays. The name “Steinbockhorn” is historically recorded.

History / Legends
Not only is the Matterhorn African, but also the Dent Blanche. Together with its neighbouring summits, they form the Dent-Blanche nappe, a cliff of the East Alpine nappe, which is otherwise only localised in the Eastern Alps. It was a part of the African plate, and consists of metamorphous rock, gneis and gabbro.

Height: 4,357 m.a.s.l.
First climbed: 18th July 1862
First climbed by: Thomas Stuart Kennedy, William and C. Wigram with the guides Jean-Baptiste Croz and Johann Kronig via the South Ridge (“Wandfluhgrat”)

Information for hikers

Various hiking tips with view of the mountain

Hike from Zermatt to the Schönbielhütte cabin

Cabins on the trail / picnic opportunities

Zmutt, Stafelalp, Schönbielhütte cabin

Mountain railway facilities

With the Zermatt – Furi – Zermatt aerial cable car

Information for excursions

Information about the various summits

You have the best view of the Dent Blanche from the Gornergrat
With the Gornergrat Bahn Zermatt – Gornergrat - Zermatt

Short, easy walks or hikes

Rotenboden - Riffelberg

Information for mountaineers / alpinists

Valley location

Ferpècle (1766 m.a.s.l.)
Zermatt (1620 m.a.s.l.)

Starting point

Cabane de la Dent Blanche (3507 m.a.s.l.)
Schönbielhütte (2694 m.a.s.l.)

Various routes

Four ridges run exactly in the four cardinal directions from the summit of the mighty pyramid of the Dent Blanche, whereby the ridge to the south is not quite as steep, and gradually runs into the ridge of the Wandfluh. Together with its easterly neighbouring summits, the Ober Gabelhorn und Zinalrothorn, the Dent Blanche forms the southern end of the Val de Zinal, which belongs to the valley system of the Val d'Anniviers. the Val d'Hérens begins to the west of the mountain, and the Zmuttgletscher extends into the valley at the south-east foot of the Dent Blanche, whose melt water flows to Zermatt and then through the Mattertal valley.
The North-east face of the Dent Blanche is glaciated almost all the way to the summit. On all the other faces, however, the glacier ice does not extend above 3,700 m. Two short, 1 to maximum 2 km long glaciers cover the western slope of the Dent Blanche, the Glacier de la Dent Blanche and the Glacier des Manzettes. The 4 km long Schönbiel glacier has its origin at the foot of the South-east face, and is a northern side-glacier of the Zmutt glacier. The Glacier du Grand Cornier pours out from the north-eastin the direction of Val de Zinal, and combines with other glaciers to form the Zinalgletscher.
South Ridge (normal route) (“Wandfluhgrat”)

  • Difficulty: ZS, III (French scale: AD; with III. UIAA level rock climbing))
  • Duration: 4 hours
  • Starting point: Cabane de la Dent Blanche (3'507 m.a.s.l.)
  • Valley location: Ferpècle (1'766 m.a.s.l.)

East-northeast Ridge (“Viereselsgrat”)

  • Difficulty: S, III+ (French scale: D; with III+. UIAA level rock climbing))
  • Duration: 9 hours
  • Starting point: Schönbielhütte (2'694 m.a.s.l.)
  • Valley location: Zermatt (1'609 m.a.s.l.)

West Ridge (“Ferpèclegrat”)

  • Difficulty: S+, IV+ (French scale: D; with IV+. UIAA level rock climbing)
  • Duration: 7 hours
  • Starting point: Cabane de la Dent Blanche (3,507 m.a.s.l.)
  • Valley location: Ferpècle (1,766 m.a.s.l.)

Refreshment points / mountain cabins

Cabane de la Dent Blanche (3,507 m.a.s.l.)
Schönbielhütte (2,694 m.a.s.l.)



Zermatt Tourismus | Tel +41 27 966 81 00 | info@zermatt.ch

Langue: Français
Zermatt. No matter what
 

*Zermatt / Mont Cervin

Dent Blanche (4357 m)

La Dent Blanche est l’un des 4000 les plus difficiles techniquement. Avec l’Obergabelhorn et le Zinalrothorn, elle se trouve à l’extrémité sud du Val de Zinal. C’est ici que passe la frontière linguistique. La Dent Blanche est une pyramide imposante, exempte de glace dont les quatre arêtes se dressent en direction des quatre points cardinaux. La cabane de la Dent Blanche à 3507 m est le plus haut des refuges CAS de Suisse. Pour y accéder, une longue marche d’approche de 1700 mètres de dénivelé doit être réalisée.  

Origine du nom
La Dent Blanche a certainement été nommée par erreur, confondue avec la Dent d'Hérens visible de peu d’endroits. Elle n’est pas aussi blanche que son nom l’indique car pratiquement exempte de glace. Sur les vieilles cartes, la Dent Blanche est aussi indiquée à la place de la Dent d‘Hérens. Cette confusion est peu étonnante car en effet, les premiers cartographes n’étant pas toujours bien accueillis par les montagnards, effectuaient souvent leurs relevés cartographiques à distance. De plus, la confusion vient également du fait qu’au milieu du 19e siècle, les habitants du Val d’Hérens inférieur nommaient la montagne Dent Blanche tandis que ceux de la vallée supérieure la nommaient Dent de Rong ou Dent d’Erins. Il n’y a aujourd’hui pas de nom allemand utilisé pour la Dent Blanche dénommée historiquement „Steinbockhorn“.

Histoire/légende
Le Cervin n’est pas le seul à être d’origine africaine, la Dent Blanche l’est aussi. Avec les sommets voisins, ils forment la nappe de la Dent Blanche, une faille de la nappe des Alpes orientales que l’on ne trouve que dans cette partie des Alpes. Elle faisait partie de la plaque africaine et se compose de roches métamorphisées (gneis et gabbros). 

Altitude 4357 m  
Première ascension 18 juillet 1862
Les premiers à réaliser l’ascension Thomas Stuart Kennedy, William et C. Wigram avec les guides Jean-Baptiste Croz et Johann Kronig par l’arête Sud („Wandfluhgrat“)

Informations pour les randonneurs

Conseils de randonnée avec vue
sur la montagne

Randonnée de Zermatt à la cabane de Schönbiel

Cabanes en chemin/pique-nique

Zmutt, Stafelalp, cabane de Schönbiel

Offres des remontées mécaniques

Avec les télécabines Zermatt-Furi-Zermatt

Informations pour les promeneurs

Infos sur les Peaks

Vue époustouflante sur la Dent Blanche du Gornergrat 
Avec le Gornergratbahn Zermatt-Gornergrat-Zermatt

Petites promenades faciles ou randonnées 

Rotenboden - Riffelberg

Informations pour les alpinistes

Vallée

Ferpècle (1766 m)
Zermatt (1620 m)

Point de départ

Cabane de la Dent Blanche (3507 m)
Cabane de Schönbiel (2694 m)

Divers itinéraires

Quatre arêtes exactement alignées sur les quatre points cardinaux descendent de la pointe de la puissante pyramide de la Dent Blanche. L’arête sud est moins raide que les autres et rejoint progressivement l’arête du Wandfluh. Avec les sommets voisins à l’Est, l’Ober Gabelhorn et le Zinalrothorn, la Dent Blanche forme le fond du Val de Zinal, qui appartient au système de vallées du Val d'Anniviers. Le Val d’Hérens commence à l’Ouest de la montagne, le glacier de Zmutt, dont les eaux de fonte s’écoulent à Zermatt et dans le Mattertal s’étend au pied Sud-Est de la Dent Blanche. 
Le flanc Nord-Est de la Dent Blanche est recouvert de glacier pratiquement jusqu’au sommet. Pour tous les autres flancs, la glace s’arrête à 3700 m. La face Ouest de la Dent Blanche est recouverte de deux petits glaciers de 1 à 2 km de long: le Glacier de la Dent Blanche et le Glacier des Manzettes. Le flanc Sud-Est est recouvert d’un glacier de 4 km de long, le Schönbielgletscher, un glacier latéral au nord du glacier Zmutt, à partir duquel il s’est formé. Vers le Nord-Est en direction du Val de Zinal s’étend le Glacier du Grand Cornier, qui rejoint d’autres glaciers pour former le Zinalgletscher.
Arête Sud (voie normale) („Wandfluhgrat“)

  • Difficulté: AD, passages d’escalade UIAA III  
  • Durée: 4 heures
  • Point de départ: Cabane de la Dent Blanche (3507 m)
  • Vallée: Ferpècle (1766 m)

Arête Est-Nord-Est („Viereselsgrat“)

  • Difficulté: D, passages d’escalade UIAA III 
  • Durée: 9 heures
  • Point de départ: cabane de Schönbiel (2694 m)
  • Vallée: Zermatt (1609 m)

Arête Ouest („Ferpèclegrat“)

  • Difficulté: D+, passages d’escalade UIAA IV+  
  • Durée: 7 heures
  • Point de départ: cabane de la Dent Blanche (3507 m)
  • Vallée: Ferpècle (1766 m)

Lieux de restauration/refuges

Cabane de la Dent Blanche (3507 m)
Cabane de Schönbiel (2694 m)



Zermatt Tourismus | Tel +41 27 966 81 00 | info@zermatt.ch