Language: English
Zermatt. No matter what
 

*Zermatt / Matterhorn

You are here: _ Home _ Zermatt / Matterhorn _ In the midst of 38 4000

In the midst of 38 4000

Zermatt was discovered in the middle of the 19th century, in the golden age of high alpinism. Almost one-third of all the 4,000 metre peaks in the Alps are grouped around the village, which has been visited by mountaineers from all around the world since the first ascent of the Matterhorn in the year 1865. A myth was born at that time: the names of Zermatt and the Matterhorn became known all around the world, and Zermatt was regarded as the Mecca of the mountaineers.

And it has remained so up to the present day: more than 3,000 alpinists climb the Matterhorn every year, which is several time more than all the other 37 summits combined. But every summit around Zermatt has its individual character, its history, its myths. Learn about all our beautiful mountains on this page!


The Dom is a massive and impressive mountain in the central axis of the Mischabel group, lying between the Täschhorn and the Lenzspitze. It is the highest mountain in Switzerland that lies completely on Swiss territory and, after Mont Blanc and the Monte Rosa (Dufourspitze, Nordend, Zumstein and Signalkuppe), is the third highest summit in the Alps. It can also be climbed on skis. The first ascent on skis was carried out on the 18th July 1917 by the Briton Sir Arnold Lunn, together with the mountain guide Joseph Knubel, the first person to climb the North Face of the Eiger.
more >>


The Dufour peak is the highest summit in Switzerland and one of the nine main summits of the Monte Rosa Massif. It competes with the Dom, the highest mountain located entirely on Swiss soil. The 150 year anniversary was celebrated in 2005: Federal Councillor Joseph Deiss, together with Zermatt mountain guides who were descendants from the first conquerors of the mountain, climbed from the old Monte Rosa cabin to the peak in a seven hour tour. There he met up with the Italian minister of agriculture Giovanni Alemanno.
more >>


The Felikhorn is an inconspicuous 4000-metre peak. It is located to the south-west of the Felikjoch, which can be reached in three hours from the New Monte Rosa cabin or in one and a half hours from the CAI cabin Rifugio Quintino Sella. The Felikjoch is the highest alpine tourist crossing. It connects the Mattertal Valley to the Val de Gressoney or the New Monte Rosa cabin with the Capanna Quintino Sella above the Zwilling and Felik glaciers. It is especially useful for those who want to climb Castor or the Liskamm from the Capanna Sella.
more >>


Four in one go and one of them the Grenzgipfel: the ridge to the Dufourspitze, the highest summit in Switzerland, has four rises: the shoulder, the Grenzgipfel, the Ostspitze and the actual Dufourspitze. The first ascent of the Grenzgipfel was thus also the first ascent of the Dufourspitze. The insignificant 4000 m peak on the route to the Dufourspitze has often been confused with others on maps and in guides.
more >>


The Hobärghorn is the third 4,000-metre summit of the Nadelgrat ridge, together with the Nadelhorn, Stecknadelhorn and Dirruhorn. The ridge is located in a somewhat hidden position to the north-west of the Mischabel group, between Saas-Fee and Randa.
more >>


The Lenzspitze belongs to the Mischabel group, and is the most remote summit on the Nadelgrat, a high-level ridge running in the north-south direction, and is located to the north of the Dom. It is the fourth summit of the Mischabel chain. The Lenzspitze is one of the best-known summits in the Alps due to its shape – a perfectly shaped pyramid with sharp edges and steep faces.
more >>


The Liskamm (often also written as Lyskamm) is located to the west of the Monte Rosa group. The East Summit (4,527 m above sea level) is the highest point of the ridge, which is several kilometres long and crowns the almost 1,000 m high ice-covered North-east face. The ascents over the ridges are long and dangerous, as the ridge has a tendency to form cornices, even though the climbs are not particularly difficult from a technical viewpoint.
more >>


The Ludwigshöhe is one of the nine summits of the Monte Rosa Massif that is uniquely defined as a 4,000-metre summit. The border between Italy, with the Valle d'Aosta und Piedmont regions, and Switzerland runs over it. On the Italian side, facing south-east, the mountains falls steeply away in the direction of Ghiaccaio delle Piode.
more >>


Together with the Stecknadelhorn, the Hobärghorn and the Dirruhorn, the Nadelhorn is the main summit of a total of 4 4,000-metre summits that together form the Nadelgrat, which lies in a hidden position, to the north-west of the Mischabel group, between Saas Fee and Randa. Its traverse is considered to be one of the most beautiful ridge hikes in the Alps. There is a characteristic rock hole below the summit. The Nadelhorn can be climbed on skis in winter, from the Bordierhütte cabin over the Windjoch col.
more >>


The Nordend is the second-highest summit in Switzerland, is a neighbour of the Dufourspitze and the most northerly 4000-metre peak in the Monte Rosa Massif. It is surrounded by glaciers on the north and north-east sides and has an impressively powerful appearance.
more >>



Zermatt Tourismus | Tel +41 27 966 81 00 | info@zermatt.ch

Sprache: Deutsch
Zermatt. No matter what
 

*Zermatt / Matterhorn

Sie sind hier: _ Home _ Zermatt / Matterhorn _ Inmitten 38 4tausender

Inmitten 38 4tausender

Entdeckt wurde Zermatt Mitte des 19. Jahrhunderts, im Zeitalter des Hochalpinismus. Fast ein Drittel aller 4000er der Alpen gruppieren sich um das Dorf, das seit der Erstbesteigung des Matterhorns im Jahre 1865 von Bergsteigern aus aller Welt besucht wird. Damals wurde ein Mythos geboren: Zermatt und Matterhorn, diese Namen gingen um die Welt und begründeten den Ort als Mekka der Bergsteiger.

Das ist Zermatt bis zum heutigen Tag geblieben: Mehr als 3000 Alpinisten im Jahr besteigen das Matterhorn, ein Vielfaches mehr die anderen 37 Gipfel. Doch jeder der Gipfel rund um Zermatt hat seine Eigenart, seine Geschichte, seinen Mythos. Lernen Sie auf dieser Seite all unsere Berge kennen!


Der Dom ist ein massiver und beeindruckender Berg in der Mittelachse der Mischabel-Gruppe, zwischen Täschhorn und Lenzspitze gelegen. Er ist der höchste Berg der Schweiz, der ganz auf Schweizer Staatsgebiet liegt und neben dem Mont Blanc und dem Monte Rosa (Dufourspitze, Nordend, Zumstein und Signalkuppe) der dritthöchste Gipfel der Alpen. Er kann auch mit Skiern bestiegen werden. Die erste Skibesteigung fand am 18. Juli 1917 durch den Briten Sir Arnold Lunn mit dem Führer Joseph Knubel, dem Erstbegeher der Eiger-Nordostwand.
mehr >>


Die Dufourspitze ist der höchstgelegene Gipfel der Schweiz, und einer der neun Hauptgipfel des Monte Rosa-Massivs. Er konkurriert mit dem Dom, dem höchsten, ganz auf Schweizer Landesgebiet gelegenen Berg. 2005 wurde die 150-Jahr-Feier begangen: Bundesrat Joseph Deiss bestieg von der alten Monte Rosa-Hütte aus mit Zermatter Bergführern, Nachfahren der Erstbesteiger, in einer siebenstündigen Tour den Gipfel, und traf dort mit dem italienischen Landwirtschaftsminister Giovanni Alemanno zusammen.
mehr >>


Das Felikhorn ist ein unscheinbarer 4000er. Es ist südwestlich vom Felikjoch gelegen, das in drei Stunden von der Neuen Monte Rosa-Hütte erreicht werden kann oder in anderthalb Stunden von der CAI-Hütte Rifugio Quintino Sella. Das Felikjoch ist der höchste touristische Übergang der Alpen. Es verbindet das Mattertal mit dem Val de Gressoney oder die Neue Monte Rosa-Hütte mit der Capanna Quintino Sella über den Zwillings- und Felikgletscher. Es ist von allem für jene nützlich, die von der Capanna Sella zum Castor oder Liskamm aufsteigen.
mehr >>


Vier auf einen Streich, und der Grenzgipfel ist einer davon: Der Grat zur Dufourspitze, dem höchsten Gipfel der Schweiz, weist vier Erhebungen auf: die Schulter, den Grenzgipfel, die Ostspitze und eben die Dufourspitze. Die Erstbesteigung des Grenzgipfels ist also die des Letztgenannten. Die unbedeutenden 4000er auf dem Weg zur Dufourspitze wurden auf Karten und in Führern oft verwechselt.
mehr >>


Das Hobärghorn ist der dritte 4000er-Gipfel des Nadelgrats, zusammen mit Nadelhorn, Stecknadelhorn, Hohbärghorn und Dirruhorn – in nord-westlicher Richtung der Mischabel-Gruppe, versteckt gelegen zwischen Saas-Fee und Randa.
mehr >>


Die Lenzspitze gehört zur Mischabelgruppe und ist der entlegendste Gipfel des Nadelgrats, einem Hochgebirgskamm in Nord-Süderstreckung, nördlich des Doms gelegen. Sie ist die vierte Erhebung der Mischabelkette. Hinsichtlich der Form ist die Lenzspitze einer der bekanntesten Gipfel der Alpen – eine formvollendete Pyramide mit scharfen Kanten und steil abfallenden Flächen.
mehr >>


Der Liskamm (oft auch Lyskamm) befindet sich westlich der Monte Rosa Gruppe. Der Ostgipfel (4‘527 m ü.M.) ist der höchste Punkt des mehreren Kilometer langen Kamms, welcher die beinahe 1000 m hohe eisbedeckte Nordost-Wand krönt. Die Anstiege über die Grate sind lang und gefährlich, da der Grat oft stark überwechtet ist, auch wenn die Anstiege technisch nicht besonders schwierig sind.
mehr >>


Die Ludwigshöhe ist einer der neun eindeutig als 4000er definierten Gipfel des Monte Rosa-Massivs. Über ihr verläuft die Landesgrenze zwischen Italien, Region Valle d'Aosta und Piemont, und der Schweiz. Zur italienischen Seite, gegen Südost, fällt sie steil ab in Richtung Ghiaccaio delle Piode.
mehr >>


Das Nadelhorn ist neben dem Stecknadelhorn, dem Hobärghorn und dem Dirruhorn der Hauptgipfel von insgesamt 4 4000ern, die zusammen den Nadelgrat bilden. Sie liegen versteckt, in nord-westlicher Richtung der Mischabel-Gruppe, zwischen Saas Fee und Randa. Ihre Überschreitung gilt als eine der schönsten Gratwanderungen der Alpen. Unterhalb des Gipfels befindet sich ein charakteristisches Felsloch. Das Nadelhorn kann im Winter mit Ski von der Bordierhütte über das Windjoch bestiegen werden.
mehr >>


Das Nordend ist der zweihöchste Gipfel der Schweiz, Nebengipfel der Dufourspitze und nördlichster 4000er im Monte Rosa-Massiv. Es ist von nördlicher und nordwestlicher Seite von Gletschern umgeben und beeindruckt durch seine wuchtige Erscheinung.
mehr >>



Zermatt Tourismus | Tel +41 27 966 81 00 | info@zermatt.ch