Language: English
Zermatt. No matter what
 
You are here: _ Home

Randa: The Schalijoch Bivouc celebrates 50 years of existence

31.05.2013

The Schalijoch bivouac has a birthday. 50 years ago the Basel section of the SAC (Swiss Alpine Club) built this bivouac on the ascent route of the south-west ridge to the summit of the Weisshorn. The birthday party takes place on 8 June in Randa.

On 8 June 2013, from 7.30 pm onwards, Randa will be celebrating the Schalijoch bivouac, with mountain guides, representatives of the Basel section of the SAC, and interested mountain enthusiasts. The same day sees the appearance of the specially created commemorative publication named “Festschrift” on the history of the bivouac

Only for hardened climbers
The south-west ridge route is the most difficult route up the Weisshorn (4,505 m). It is therefore the least travelled, and is only suitable for very experienced and well-trained alpinists who take the route with a mountain guide and crampons. Starting point is the Rothorn hut, then 6-7 hours climb to the Schalijoch bivouac. From there a further stretch of approximately 5 hours to the summit of the Weisshorn. For this route there is only a small time frame in summer for the ascent – mostly periods of several days of fine weather in August. For all three Weisshorn ascent routes it is recommended to engage a mountain guide. The “simplest” route is the east ridge –  which is also the most travelled. From Randa via the Weisshorn hut. The second most travelled route leads over the north ridge. The starting point is Zinal, Cabane de Tracuit and head for the summit.

Celebrating 50 years in Randa
Saturday, 8 June 2013, from 7.30 pm 
Randa multi-purpose hall
Cocktails and conviviality 
Book launch “50 years Schalijoch bivouac”
Musical setting: village music “Weisshorn”
To order the Festschrift “50 years Schalijoch bivouac”: Telephone +41 (0) 78 812 83 61

Zermatt Tourismus | Tel +41 27 966 81 00 | info@zermatt.ch

Sprache: Deutsch
Zermatt. No matter what
 
Sie sind hier: _ Home

Randa: Das Schalijoch-Biwak feiert sein 50-jähriges Bestehen

31.05.2013

Das Schalijoch-Biwak feiert Geburtstag. Vor 50 Jahren baute die Sektion Basel des SAC dieses Biwak an der Aufstiegsroute des Südwestgrates zum Gipfel des Weisshorns. Am 8. Juni 2013 ist Geburtstagsfeier in Randa.

Am Samstag, 8. Juni 2013, ab 19.30 Uhr, feiert Randa das Schalijoch-Biwak, mit Bergführern, Vertretern der Sektion SAC Basel und interessierten Bergfreunden. Gleichentags erscheint die eigens zum Jubiläum geschaffene Festschrift zur Geschichte des Biwaks.

Nur für Hartgesottene
Die Südwestgrat-Route ist die schwierigste Route auf das Weisshorn (4‘505 m). Darum ist sie auch die am wenigsten begangene und eignet sich nur für sehr erfahrene und gut trainierte Alpinisten, die die Route mit einem Bergführer unter die Steigeisen nehmen. Zustieg über die Rothornhütte. Danach 6-7 Stunden Aufstieg bis zum Schalijoch-Biwak. Von dort aus nochmals rund 5 Stunden bis auf den Gipfel des Weisshorns. Für diese Route besteht im Sommer nur ein kleines Zeitfenster für die Begehung – meist an mehrtägigen schönen Sommerperioden im August. Für alle drei Weisshorn-Zustiegsrouten wird empfohlen, einen Bergführer zu engagieren. Die „einfachste“ Route ist der Ostgrat – das ist auch die meistbegangene Route. Ab Randa via Weisshornhütte. Die zweit meist begangene Route führt über den Nordgrat. Ausgangspunkt ist Zinal, Cabane de Tracuit und Richtung Gipfel.

50-Jahr-Feier in Randa
Samstag, 8. Juni 2013, ab 19.30 Uhr
Mehrzweckhalle Randa
Apéro und gemütliches Beisammensein
Buchvernissage „50 Jahr Schalijoch-Biwak“
Musikalische Umrahmung: Dorfmusik „Weisshorn“
Bestellung Festschrift „50 Jahre Schalijoch-Biwak“: Telefon +41 (0) 78 812 83 61

Zermatt Tourismus | Tel +41 27 966 81 00 | info@zermatt.ch