Zermatt – Matterhorn stands out at the Blick Winter Awards 2022/2023


Zermatt has picked up one of this year’s Blick Winter Awards: on Thursday 2 March the results of an online vote by the Blick Group were celebrated at its award ceremony. Six awards went to the best Swiss winter sports areas, split into the categories “Snowboard & skiing”, “Cross country skiing”, “Small and sweet”, “Leisure and fun”, “Family” and “Gastronomy”. Zermatt took the top prize in the latter award, which was presented for the first time this year. Zermatt was also successful in the “Skiing and snowboarding” category, achieving second place. Blick awarded Zermatt CHF 85,000 for its first place in “Gastronomy”, which can be used for advertising purposes across its channels.  

Image download

The Zermatt – Matterhorn ski destination picks up the Blick Winter Award 2022/2023 in the “Gastronomy” category. Blick readers were asked to vote for the area they felt provided the best culinary experience and highest quality cuisine. Zermatt also achieved second place in the “Skiing and snowboarding” category. For this category the Blick community was asked to vote for the ski area with the most varied offering of slopes, such as super-fast downhill runs, mogul runs, wide slopes for carving, or snow parks. In addition, voters had to consider value for money, snow safety and infrastructure when making their decision. 

76 Swiss ski destinations vying for one of the six awards 

A total of 76 winter sports locations registered for the competition. Each destination had the option to enter two categories. Zermatt opted for the “Gastronomy” and “Skiing and Snowboarding” categories. Competition was stiff, but the holiday location in the Upper Valais Alps triumphed in the first category against 7 nominated areas to be crowned as the gastronomic leader of Swiss winter sports locations. In the “Skiing and snowboarding” category, Zermatt competed against 23 challengers but still succeeded in achieving second place. We are proud to achieve such a sensational result and we thank all the gastronomy businesses, their chefs and staff, who are the real winners of this prize.