Historical sites


16 Attractions

Beresina-Haus

An inconspicuous barn stands high above the village of Zermatt, visible to all. It was built in 1811 as a result of developments on the world stage.

Details

English Church

freely accessible / always open

The English Church is an important part of Zermatt’s history and traditions. It is closely linked to the British visitors who were among the first to want to see and experience the Matterhorn.

Details

Grave of the Unknown Climber

freely accessible / always open

The “Grave of the Unknown Climber” is located in the Mountaineers’ Cemetery. It reminds us of the more than 500 deaths, which have taken place on the Matterhorn since 1865. And of the missing and dead, who could not be found or completely removed after their fall.

Details

Hamlet of Blatten

Blatten was once a “Maiensäss”, a high settlement to which farmers moved for the summer, with lush pastures. Today, this hamlet located at 1,740 m, with its old wooden houses, fine restaurants and pretty chapel, is a popular excursion destination.

Details

Hamlet of Findeln

freely accessible / always open

The hamlet of Findelen was once a “Maiensäss”, where many Zermatt families lived and worked during the summer months, growing grain and grazing cattle. Today, Findeln attracts numerous visitors in both summer and winter for its superb mountain cuisine.

Details

Hamlet of Furi

The hamlet of Furi (1,867 m) was once a “Maiensäss”, a high settlement where farming families lived for the summer. Today, Furi promises a whole world of family attractions, from the glacier garden to fun playgrounds.

Details

Hamlet of Herbrigg

freely accessible / always open

Various small hamlets overlook Zermatt. In early centuries, they were used for farming and agriculture in summer. One such is the hamlet of Herbrigg, located up on the slopes south-west of Zermatt at an altitude of 1,754 m.

Details

Hamlet of Zum See

freely accessible / always open

In earlier centuries, a mule trail led through the hamlet of Zum See, linking Switzerland and Italy via the Theodul Pass. The closely grouped buildings are authentic and represent hundreds of years of history.

Details

Mountain guides’ memorial

freely accessible / always open

This monument honours the Zermatt mountain guides who lost their lives as they practised their profession.

Details

Mountaineers’ cemetery

freely accessible / always open

The mountaineers’ cemetery is a moving reminder of the accidents that have occurred in the mountains around Zermatt. The tranquil site is a memorial to all climbers who have lost their lives here.

Details

Old part of the village

freely accessible / always open

Zermatt is proud of its Old Village, home to more than 30 buildings constructed in the traditional style of the barns and stores of the upper Valais. Many sit on flat stone slabs balanced on stilts to keep out mice. Wonderful for photographers!

Details

Prehistoric stones at Zermatt

Zermatt has ten prehistoric stones adorned with cup marks. Some of the rocks are easily spotted along the Herbrigg–Zmutt path by Hubelwäng.

Details

Randa wooden cross

freely accessible / always open

Glorious views and the perfect spot for a picnic await hikers at the end of the climb: the walk up to the wooden cross above Randa is well worth the effort.

Details

Riffelalp mountain station

Riffelalp (2,211 m) is the starting point for a variety of easy walks. In winter, skiers meet here for a drink, to relax and enjoy the beautiful view of the Matterhorn.

Details

Riffelberg mountain station

Riffelberg – a charming blend of history and spectacular scenery. Up on the Riffelberg (2,582 m), visitors enjoy a grandstand view of the alpine world, complete with the Matterhorn and many other 4,000-metre peaks. It was here that Zermatt’s first mountain hotel opened.

Details

Walk of Climb

freely accessible / always open

Nine bronze markers along the Bahnhofstrasse in the centre of Zermatt remind each one of the first climbers of the Matterhorn. They reached the summit in July 1865. Now those interested can follow the “Walk of Climb.”

Details
Weather -- / --
Webcams
Hiking
Daily activities
Book