Language: English
Zermatt. No matter what
 

*Zermatt / Matterhorn

Castor (4,223 m a.s.l.)

Castor (Italian: Punta Castore) is one of the two peaks known as the “Twins”, and is situated to the south-east of the similar-looking, but smaller, Pollux to the north-north-west. Castor lies between the Breithorn and the Monte Rosa, and its rocky summit is slightly to the south of the national frontier, and is thereby in Italy. The twin summits of Castor and Pollux are separated by the Zwillingsjoch (English: Twin col: Italian: Passo di Verra, 3,845 m a.s.l.). 

Origin of the name 
Castor is named after one of the Greek twins Kastor and Polydeuces, sons of Zeus. Castor is the Latin version of the name. 

History / legend 
The Ancient Greeks disagreed about Castor’s origin. For some, he was the son of Leda and her husband Tyndareos. As he was conceived in the same night as Polydeuces, they were twins, although, as the son of Zeus, Polydeuces was a half-god, while Castor was merely a mortal. Others believed that, like his brother, Castor was also a son of Zeus. The end of the Dioscouroi (sons of Zeus) Castor und Polydeuces was initiated by a quarrel started by Castor with his cousin Idas. Idas slew the mortal Castor, following which Polydeuces killed Idas’ brother Lynceus. Zeus then intervened in the quarrel by destroying Idas with a bolt of lightning. The immortal Polydeuces mourned his brother so much that he asked his father Zeus to take away his immortality so that he could join his brother in the Land of the Dead. Moved by so much love, Zeus allowed his son to choose to either remain forever young and to live among the Gods, or to stay with Castor alternately one day in the underworld of Hades (the Land of the Dead) and one day in Olympus with the Gods, and to thereby become older, and to finally die. Without any hesitation, Polydeuces chose the second variant and, from then on, travelled between Olympus and Hades with his brother.




Height

4,223 m a.s.l.

First climbed

23rd August 1861

First climbed by

F.W. Jacomb, William Mathews, Michel Croz


Information for hikers

Different hiking tips with a view of the mountain

Gletschergartenweg (Riffelberg - Gletschergarten - Furi - Moos - Zermatt)
Aussichtsweg (Gornergrat - Rotenboden)

Mountain railway offers

Prices

Information for excursions

Information about the various peaks

You have the best view of Castor from the Gornergrat
With the Gornergrat-Bahn Zermatt – Gornergrat-Zermatt

Short, easy walks or hikes

Rotenboden - Riffelberg

Information for mountaineers / alpinists

Valley location

San Giacomo (1,689 m a.s.l.)
Gressoney-la-Trinité (1,635 m a.s.l.)
Zermatt (1,620 m a.s.l.)

Starting point

Rifugio Guide della Val d'Ayas (3,394 m a.s.l.)
Capanna Quintino Sella (3,585 m a.s.l.)
Klein Matterhorn (3,883 m a.s.l.)

Various routes

The ascent is generally made form the Italian Capanna Quintino Sella over the Felikjoch (Felik col) and the long and narrow south-east ridge (normal route, WS). If coming from Switzerland, you can start from the Klein Matterhorn and cross the Italian Mezzalama glacier and the West flank.

Refreshment areas / mountain cabins

Rifugio Guide della Val d'Ayas (3,394 m a.s.l.)
Capanna Quintino Sella (3,585 m a.s.l.)
Klein Matterhorn (3,883 m a.s.l.)



Zermatt Tourismus | Tel +41 27 966 81 00 | info@zermatt.ch

Langue: Français
Zermatt. No matter what
 

*Zermatt / Mont Cervin

Castor (4223 m)

Castor (en italien: Punta Castore) est l’un des deux sommets dits „jumeaux“. Il est situé au sud-est du Pollux, d’apparence semblable mais moins haut, au nord-nord-ouest. Le Castor est situé entre le Breithorn et le Mont Rose. Le sommet rocheux du Castor se trouve en Italie, légèrement au sud de la frontière suisse. Les jumeaux Castor et Pollux sont séparés par le Zwillingsjoch (en italien: Passo di Verra, 3'845 m). 

Origine du nom 
Le nom de Castor fait référence aux jumeaux grecs Castor et Polydeuces, fils de Zeus. Castor est le nom latin. 

Histoire/légende 
L’avis des Grecs était divisé sur la descendance de Castor. Pour les uns, il était le fis de Leda et de son époux Tyndarides. Conçus dans la même nuit, Castor et Pollux étaient frères jumeaux. Mais Pollux, fils de Zeus, était un demi-dieu alors que Castor était un mortel. Pour les autres, Castor était un fils de Zeus comme son frère. Le malheur des frères jumeaux Castor et Pollux commença à cause d’une dispute entre Castor et son cousin Idas. Idas frappe mortellement Castor (le mortel), raison pour laquelle Pollux tue Lyncée, frère d’Idas. Zeus intervient dans la dispute et foudroie Idas d’un éclair. Mais Pollux, inconsolable de la mort de son frère, demande à son père Zeus de lui retirer l’immortalité pour rejoindre son frère au royaume des morts. Touché par tant d’amour, Zeus donne le choix à son fils : rester éternellement jeune et vivre parmi les dieux ou passer à tour de rôle un jour au royaume des morts et un jour au royaume des dieux. Dans ce cas, il vieillirait alors et finirait par mourir. Sans aucune hésitation, Pollux choisit la seconde variante et vécut avec son frère entre les deux royaumes.




Altitude

4223 m

Première ascension

23 août 1861

Les premiers à réaliser l'ascension

F.W. Jacomb, William Mathews, Michel Croz


Informations pour les randonneurs

Conseils de randonnée avec vue sur la montagne

Gletschergartenweg (Riffelberg - Gletschergarten - Furi - Moos - Zermatt)
Aussichtsweg (Gornergrat - Rotenboden)

Offres des remontées mécaniques

Tarifs

Informations pour les promeneurs

Infos sur les Peaks

Le Gornergrat offre la plus belle vue sur le Castor
Avec le Gornergrat-Bahn Zermatt - Gornergrat - Zermatt

Petites promenades

Rotenboden - Riffelberg

Informations pour les alpinistes

Vallée

San Giacomo (1689 m)
Gressoney-la-Trinité (1635 m)
Zermatt (1620 m)

Point de départ

Rifugio Guide della Val d'Ayas (3394 m)
Capanna Quintino Sella (3585 m)
Petit Cervin (3883 m)

Divers itinéraires

L’ascension s’appréhende généralement à partir de la Capanna Quintino Sella en Italie par le Felikjoch et la longue arête Sud-Est (voie normale, Ouest-Sud). En venant de Suisse, on part du Petit Cervin pour monter par le glacier Mezzalama en Italie et le flanc ouest. 

Lieux de restauration / refuges

Rifugio Guide della Val d'Ayas (3394 m)
Capanna Quintino Sella (3585 m)
Petit Cervin (3883 m)



Zermatt Tourismus | Tel +41 27 966 81 00 | info@zermatt.ch