Language: English
Zermatt. No matter what
 
You are here: _ Home

Reading: About the days the Matterhorn was nearly destroyed

23.01.2013

The Matterhorn puts its head on the line for lots of things. For one, it symbolises Switzerland, a fact that nearly cost it its head. The book by Thomas Wyss is certainly a gripping read. In it he reveals secrets about the Matterhorn and Switzerland, too.

A full-on attack was to have been launched on Switzerland’s iconic landmark, but as we all know, it never happened because a lot of luck helped. But very few people know that the situation was serious, so serious in fact that it is only down to silly coincidences that the Matterhorn is still standing. In 1936 the Nazis were in power in Germany. No lesser person than the German transport minister Eltz-Rübenach was planning to destroy the symbol of Switzerland’s mountains. The code name for the mission was “Irmgards nächtlicher Kuss” (Irmgard’s nocturnal kiss). The bombers of the Luftwaffe with their destructive payload did actually take off. Fortunately, none of them reached their destination; in fact, one of them crashed not far from the Matterhorn, in the Monte Rosa Massif.

A hair-raising read
The Matterhorn story is a true fact. The files are available, but to this day no-one knows whether diplomatic protests were lodged about the attack that almost was. The book by Thomas Wyss (available only in German) comprises 17 other stories about Swiss symbols, complete with documents, extracts from files, letters and notes. One reviewer wrote: “Some of the stories are so hair-raising, you’d think they were made up”. (Veronika Scheuermeier) Entertainment value: high! 

Information: Author: Thomas Wyss. Title: Das um ein Haar geköpfte Matterhorn. 200 pages, Fona Verlag 2012, ISBN 978-3-03781-047-7; CHF 35.90


Zermatt Tourismus | Tel +41 27 966 81 00 | info@zermatt.ch

Langue: Français
Zermatt. No matter what
 
Vous êtes ici: _ Home

Lecture: «Das um ein Haar geköpfte Matterhorn» (le Cervin à deux doigts de la décapitation)

23.01.2013

Le Mont Cervin a bien des obligations diplomatiques – entre autres en tant que symbole de la Suisse. Un honneur qui lui aurait presque coûté la tête. Le livre de Thomas Wyss nous offre une lecture palpitante en dévoilant les secrets entourant le Mont Cervin et la Suisse. Jusque maintenant, le livre est édité seulement en allemand.

Il s’agissait d’un attentat sur l’emblème de la Suisse. Mais comme nous le savons tous, ce dernier n’a jamais eu lieu. Ce qui est moins connu, par contre, c’est la gravité de la situation: si le Mont Cervin a survécu, c’est grâce à une série de coïncidences toutes bêtes. En 1936, les Nazis tenaient les rênes du pouvoir en Allemagne. Paul Freiherr von Eltz-Rübenach, le ministre des Transports allemand, s’était mis en tête de démolir le symbole des montagnes suisses. Nom de code de l’opération: «Le baiser nocturne d’Irmgard». Les bombardiers chargés de la funeste mission avaient d’ailleurs effectivement décollé. Par chance, aucun de ces avions n’est parvenu à destination; sort étrange, l’un d’entre eux s’est écrasé dans le massif du mont Rose, non loin du Cervin.

Une lecture hallucinante
L’histoire du Mont Cervin se fonde sur des faits réels. Malgré l’existence de dossiers à ce sujet, nous ignorons toutefois si l’attentat manqué était suivit par des démarches diplomatiques. L’ouvrage de Thomas Wyss comporte 17 autres histoires sur des symboles suisses, ainsi que des copies de documents, extraits de dossiers, lettres et notes. Pour citer une critique: «Certains récits sont hallucinants à un point qu’on les croirait inventées.» (Veronika Scheuermeier). Notre avis: hautement divertissant! Informations: 

Auteur: Thomas Wyss. Titre: Das um ein Haar geköpfte Matterhorn. 200 pages, Fona Verlag 2012, en allemand seulement. ISBN 978-3-03781-047-7; CHF 35.90 


Zermatt Tourismus | Tel +41 27 966 81 00 | info@zermatt.ch