Language: English
Zermatt. No matter what
 

*150th anniversary of the first ascent of the Matterhorn

You are here: _ Home _ 150th anniversary of the first ascent of the Matterhorn

150th anniversary of the first ascent of the Matterhorn

On 14 July 1865 Englishman Edward Whymper successfully completed the first ascent of the Matterhorn. However, his triumph ended in tragedy, with four of the seven men in the party of first ascenders plunging to their death after the rope broke during the descent.

The sensational amount of media interest that followed the first ascent resulted in more and more tourists travelling to Zermatt, launching a tourism trend that has lasted 150 years.

Today the Zermatt-Matterhorn destination is the best known destination in the Swiss Alps – car-free and set among 38 peaks of 4,000 m and more. 365 days a year guests are able to enjoy every kind of winter sport at the highest ski resort anywhere in the Alps. In summer 400 km of hiking trails and mountain excursions await.

Image
Video

Origin of the name, History, Facts and figures and Records on the Matterhorn
more >>


Legends, stories and tales of the Matterhorn.
more >>


Great occasions cast their shadows. 2015 will be marked by events, celebrations, conferences, special offers and an open-air play.
more >>


Historical pictures of the first ascent of the Matterhorn, the rope group and portrait of climbers who made the first ascent: Edward Whymper, Douglas R. Hadow, Charles Hudson, Francis Douglas, Michel-Auguste Croz, Peter Taugwalder (father) and Peter Taugwalder (son). May also be downloaded.
more >>


The media have already begun reporting extensively and globally on the forthcoming 150th anniversary of the first ascent of the Matterhorn. So make sure you secure your quotas for hotels, excursions, activities and events now.
more >>



Zermatt Tourismus | Tel +41 27 966 81 00 | info@zermatt.ch

Langue: Français
Zermatt. No matter what
 

*150e anniversaire de la première ascension

Vous êtes ici: _ Home _ 150e anniversaire de la première ascension

150e anniversaire de la première ascension

Le 14 juillet 1865, le Britannique Edward Whymper fut le premier à conquérir le Cervin. Cependant, son triomphe se termina par une tragédie: parmi les sept alpinistes de l’expédition, quatre périrent lorsque la corde se rompit au moment de la descente.

La couverture médiatique de cette première ascension attira un nombre sans cesse croissant de touristes à Zermatt. De fait, l’événement marqua le coup d’envoi d’un développement touristique qui se poursuivrait durant 150 ans.  

Aujourd’hui, la destination Zermatt-Matterhorn est la station alpine la plus célèbre de Suisse. Fermé à la circulation, le village est entouré de 38 pics de quatre mille mètres. 365 jours par année, les visiteurs profitent des sports d’hiver dans le domaine skiable le plus élevé des Alpes. En été, 400 km de sentiers de randonnée ainsi que des montagnes propices aux excursions ravissent les inconditionnels de la marche.

Image
Vidéo

Légendes, histoires et récits sur le Mont Cervin.
plus >>


Informations sur l'origine des noms, histoire, faits et documents sur le Cervin.
plus >>


De grandes manifestations se préparent d’ores et déjà en vue de l’année de jubilé. 2015 sera ponctué par des événements, des festivités, des congrès, des offres spéciales ainsi qu’un spectacle en plein air.
plus >>


Images historiques de la première ascension du Cervin, de la cordée, ainsi que des portraits des pionniers Edward Whymper, Douglas R. Hadow, Charles Hudson, Francis Douglas, Michel-Auguste Croz, ainsi que les Taugwalder père et fils. Pour ceux qui le souhaitent, les images peuvent également être téléchargées.
plus >>


À l’occasion du 150e anniversaire de la conquête du Cervin, les médias du monde entier sont d’ores et déjà sur le qui-vive. Profitez de la couverture médiatique pour réserver dès maintenant vos contingents pour les hôtels, excursions, activités et autres manifestations.
plus >>



Zermatt Tourismus | Tel +41 27 966 81 00 | info@zermatt.ch