Language: English
Zermatt. No matter what
 

*News / Events

You are here: _ Home _ News / Events _ Press corner _ histoires_de_zermatt

Zermatt Museum: The past as an experience

The Zermatt Zermatlantis Museum will be celebrating its fifth anniversary on the 18th December 2011. Over this time, it has become an important pillar of Zermatt’s alpine history and culture, with as many as 1,000 visitors flocking to the underground world of the museum on some days.

The concept of setting up a village with original, old buildings from Zermatt as a showplace for the historical subjects has been extremely successful. For its guests, the museum has developed into an integral feature of the overall experience of Zermatt. Even the locals often come and look around.

Crowds of people
On average, around 40,000 persons visit the museum each year. It can happen that up to 1,000 persons descend the stairs into the underground past of Zermatt on a single day. The successful concept originated from the Steiner museum concept company in Sarnen, who count the Glasi Hergiswil (glass works museum), the Harbour Museum in Hamburg and the Swiss National Museum (Landesmuseum) among their clients.
 
Zermatlantis is the fusion of the words Zermatt and Atlantis, and is a metaphor for the historically designed museum archipelago. Stories are told of the Horu, and of the little village with its inhabitants, who have now become globally respected tourism protagonists as a result of “first-ascent alpinism”.

Village square” as the centre
“Now and again, we have noticed that our visitors on the Museum’s village square behave as they would have behaved on a real village square. They talk to each other, sit on the benches near the tree or even take a nap”, says Edy Schmid, the president of the Alpine Museum Zermatt Association. You reach the walk-in buildings from the cobbled village square: the mountain guide’s house, the local pastor’s home, the tiny tea house and the stables with farm animals, including mules, black-necked goats and black-nose sheep. There are also wild animals, however: marmot, chamois and an ibex that is still smelly today.

The drama of the first ascent
The visitors are mostly drawn to mountain guide’s house and to the house in which the first ascent of the Matterhorn by Edward Whymper in the year 1865 is shown. The drama of the three survivors (Whymper and father and son Taugwalder, the mountain guides) and the four men who fell (Michel Croz, a mountain guide from Chamonix, and the guests Francis Douglas, Robert Hadow and Charles Hudson) really gets under your skin. In addition to the broken rope, which is draped over a red velvet cushion, you can also see equipment and clothing remnants from the victims, as well as the portraits of the stern-looking participants. In 2007, using a replica of the original rope, it was found that, contrary to the rumours, the rope was not cut for self-survival. The investigation commissioned by the museum proved that the rope could only hold 300 kilograms, and was therefore too thin to save the lives of the four men that fell.
But the following are also now being shown: the ascent routes on the Hore. The records from the year 2011 showing the latest conquerors of the Matterhorn. The stories of the ascents of the North Wall of the Matterhorn and the female mountaineer Yvette Vaucher. And, of course, the legendary Zermatt mountain guide Ulrich Inderbinden (1900-2004) can be seen more than once.

Questions, questions …
The museum encourages questions, and the two museum employees, Edy Schmid and Peter Graf, are happy to provide information. They know lots of stories that are not shown. “We learn a lot of things from the visitors,“ says Edy Schmid. The museum lives, and even locals tell the museum staff, who mainly work on a volunteer basis, that they still experience a few “A-ha” moments, despite their advantage as locals.

Special exhibition about Bonatti
From spring 2012, there will be a special exhibition in the Museum about the alpinism pioneer Walter Bonatti (1930-2011). In 1965, he was the first person to single-handedly climb the North Face of the Matterhorn, which he did in six days. His record was broken in 2006 by the extreme mountaineer Ueli Steck (25 hours). On the 21st September 2011, however, Patrick Aufdenblatten (23) und Michael Lerjen (25), both from Zermatt, managed to conquer the same route in only 7 hours and 14 minutes.

The Museum thereby not only shows how alpinism was experienced in the past, but also offers the opportunity to find out how alpinism in Zermatt is still developing today, using the latest facts and pictures.

Zermatt Tourismus | Tel +41 27 966 81 00 | info@zermatt.ch