150 years ago, British woman Lucy Walker was the first woman to stand on the summit of the Matterhorn. In a tweed skirt, too. It is fitting that this achievement should be honoured 150 years later in Zermatt – Matterhorn. Guests can spend a whole summer, and even some of the autumn, following in the footsteps of Lucy Walker in the mountains and around the Matterhorn, both here in person and virtually.

Go on your own journey of discovery

Where the past and the present come together: In Zermatt, you can hear the exciting story of Lucy Walker’s Matterhorn ascent, see the places where she stopped along the way, visit breathtaking viewpoints or even ride, hike or bike on the same mountains that were climbed back in the 19th century. That significant moment in Alpine history can still be experienced today.

Stay overnight at the foot of the Matterhorn

Experience Zermatt - Matterhorn 150 years later

In 2021, Zermatt – Matterhorn continues to be the ultimate mountain climbing paradise. From straightforward Alpine four-thousanders to challenging tours, this is where dreams are realised. Some mountains are also accessible by cable car, there is a wide range of hotels and holiday apartments and the choice of activities has expanded significantly. Browse through everything on offer and then book your accommodation and cable car ticket together as a package.

Inspiration for at home

Zermatt – Matterhorn means something different to everyone. When you're here, the destination can be enjoyed to the full; back at home and at work, you often wish you were here. Bring the Alpine world and Lucy Walker into your home. Take a look at our webcam (did you know that you can rewind it and replay the sunrise on a clear day?), order a souvenir or watch the “100% Women Peak Challenge" – women-only rope teams climbing the four-thousanders.

Im Juli 1871 stand die Britin Lucy Walker als erste Frau auf dem Matterhorn. Und das im Flanellrock. Diese Leistung soll 150 Jahre später in Zermatt – Matterhorn gebührend gewürdigt werden. Die Gäste haben die Möglichkeit, einen ganzen Sommer lang, ja sogar bis in den Herbst hinein, auf den Spuren von Lucy Walker die Bergwelt rund um das Matterhorn zu erleben und zu erkunden – vor Ort und von zuhause aus.

Selber auf Entdeckungsreise gehen

Wo Vergangenheit und Gegenwart aufeinandertreffen: In Zermatt kann man mehr über die spannende Geschichte von Lucy Walkers Matterhornbesteigung erfahren, Orte anschauen, an denen sie sich dazumal aufgehalten hat, atemberaubende Fotopoints erkunden oder auf die gleichen Berge fahren, wandern oder biken, die schon im 19. Jahrhundert aufgesucht wurden. Hier ist bedeutende Alpingeschichte noch heute erlebbar.

Erwachsene
2
Kinder
0
Alter der Kinder

Zermatt – Matterhorn 150 Jahre später erleben

Im Jahr 2021 ist Zermatt – Matterhorn noch immer das Bergsteigerparadies schlechthin. Vom einfachsten 4’000er des Alpenraums bis zur schwierigen Hochtour: Hier erfüllen sich Lebensträume. Einige Berge sind zudem mit den Bergbahnen erreichbar, es gibt zahlreiche Hotels und Ferienwohnungen und das Aktivitätenangebot ist um einiges vielseitiger geworden. Entdecken Sie das breite Angebot und buchen Sie dank den Pauschalen Unterkunft und Bergbahnticket bequem zusammen.

Inspiration für zuhause

Zermatt – Matterhorn hat für jeden und jede eine andere Bedeutung. Vor Ort wird die Destination in vollen Zügen genossen und zuhause oder im Alltag oft vermisst. Holen Sie die Bergwelt und Lucy Walker zu sich nach Hause. Durchstöbern Sie zum Beispiel unsere Webcams (wussten Sie, dass Sie zurückspulen und den Sonnenaufgang am helllichten Tag nachschauen können?), bestellen Sie sich ein Souvenir nach Hause oder beobachten Sie, wie bei der «100% Women Challenge» Frauenseilschaften die 4’000er besteigen.