Language: English
Zermatt. No matter what
 
You are here: _ Home

Zermatt: Elli at the Hexenbar is the best barkeeper in Switzerland

08.10.2012

Elvira Bachanek (31) received the renowned Swiss Bar Awards “Barkeeper of the Year 2012” title in Zurich at the end of September. The successful barkeeper has been working at the Hexenbar in Zermatt for the last five years.

The qualified hotel manageress, trained in Germany, is charming, speedy and skilful as well as an acclaimed cocktail mixer. And now she’s Switzerland’s best barkeeper. Elvira Bachanek, known as Elli, has reached the very top thanks to her knowledge and skill. She hails from the German island of Usedom in the Baltic Sea and came to Zermatt through a bet. The background: “I was told I would never manage to leave home,” she says. She didn’t take that lying down and shortly afterwards left to work in Zermatt. She first spent three years at the Hotel Ambassador before, via other jobs, arriving on Bahnhofstrasse. Here she has been welcoming and serving guests in the Hexenbar for five years and is one of Zermatt’s most popular barkeepers.

It’s all about regular guests

Despite meeting some problems in Switzerland at the beginning, Elvira Bachanek has managed it. But first she had to get used to the Zermatt dialect. A classic German-Swiss German misunderstanding occurred once – but only once – in the early days, when she served a guest a Fanta (soft drink) because she didn’t understand that he wanted Fendant (wine).

The team and Elli make the Hexenbar. On her return from the Swiss Bar Awards presentation in Zurich, she saw affectionate congratulations written on the glass panels on “her bar”. She is happy in the team, in the hotel, with her boss – and most importantly – with the regular guests. “The great thing in Zermatt is that guests come back year after year. It would hurt me if regular guests didn’t come through the door every year,” she says.

Internet and hard work
The path to the title was long. Elli’s colleagues initially entered her for the award without her knowledge. Then followed an elaborate procedure with several rounds via Internet votes, a test on knowledge of Switzerland and then the final with show cocktail mixing. Elli’s employer sponsored a coach which carried 60 regular guests from Zermatt to Zurich to the final. This made big atmosphere. Eli brought it all together to take the hard-earned first place. The support and the congratulations of her regular guests “were big pleasure”, she says, modestly but delightedly.
The Green Harry recipe
4cl              London Gin No 1, Original Blue Gin
3clBols Kiwi Liqueur
4 clOrange juice
10 clGrapefruit juice
1 dashLemon juice
1 clBlue Curaçao syrup
Beigabe1 cm thick slice of cucumber cut into quarters

Preparation
Shake all liquids together with ice cubes. Pour into a 5 dl glass. Add cucumber slices.


Elli’s tip: 
“The cucumber slices mean that the alcohol doesn’t taste too strong.” Elli chose the name “The Green Harry” after the most famous wizard, Harry Potter. And green, because that’s the colour of the witches (Hexen) of the Hexenbar.


Zermatt Tourismus | Tel +41 27 966 81 00 | info@zermatt.ch

Langue: Français
Zermatt. No matter what
 
Vous êtes ici: _ Home

Zermatt: Elli du Hexenbar est la meilleure barkeeper de Suisse

09.10.2012

Fin septembre, Elvira Bachanek (31) a été désignée à Zürich „Barkeeper of the year 2012“, obtenant ainsi le prix de renom décerné par le Swiss Bar Awards. La talentueuse barkeeper travaille depuis cinq ans au Hexenbar à Zermatt.


Elle est charmante et agile; elle a terminé sa formation hôtelière en Allemagne et elle est aussi préparatrice de cocktails avec formation professionnelle. Elle est désormais la meilleure barkeeper de Suisse. Elvira Bachanek, nommée Elli, a su s’imposer au sommet grâce à son savoir et à son savoir-faire. Elle vient de l’île d‘Usedom en mer Baltique et est arrivée à Zermatt suite à un pari. La raison: „On me disait que je n’arriverais jamais à quitter la maison de mes parents“, raconte-t-elle. Elle décida de prouver le contraire et mit le cap sur Zermatt. Elle y passa les trois premières années à l’hôtel Ambassador, puis, après d’autres escales, arriva au Hexenbar. Cela fait cinq ans qu’elle y sert et choie ses hôtes. Elle est l’une des barkeepers préférées de Zermatt.

Grâce aux habitués
Bien qu’elle ait dû faire face à quelques difficultés de départ, Elvira Bachanek a réussi. Il a d’abord fallu qu’elle s’habitue au dialecte zermattois. À ses débuts, elle fut victime du classique malentendu entre l’allemand et le dialecte – une seule fois, elle servit un Fanta (limonade gazeuse) à un hôte parce qu’elle n’avait pas compris qu’il avait commandé un Fendant (vin).

Le Hexenbar doit sa renommée à Elli et à son team. Après la remise des prix de la Swiss Bar Award à Zürich, elle retrouva les vitres de „son“ bar recouvertes de félicitations. Elle se sent bien au sein de son équipe, avec son chef, dans l’établissement, mais avant tout en compagnie de ses hôtes fidèles : „Ce qui est bien à Zermatt, c’est que les hôtes reviennent chaque année. Cela me ferait de la peine de ne pas revoir chaque année les habitués dans l’entrée“, déclare-t-elle.

Internet et dur labeur
Le chemin jusqu’au titre fut long. D’abord, Elli fut inscrite, à son insu, au concours par ses collègues. Il s’ensuivit un procédé sophistiqué à plusieurs tours comprenant des votes sur internet, un test de connaissances sur la Suisse puis les épreuves éliminatoires pour le final accompagné de shows. Le patron d’Elli faisait de sponsor pour un bus qui amenait au final à Zürich une soixantaine d’habitués. C’était l’ambiance euphorique. Tout cela mena Elli à la première place : „L’appui et les félicitations des habitués me faisaient la plus grande joie „ raconte-t-elle avec modestie mais très heureuse.
Recette „The Green Harry“
4cl              London Gin No 1, Original Blue Gin
3clBols Kiwi Liqueur
4 clJus d'orange
10 clJus de grapefruit
1 traitJus de citron
1 clBlue Curaçao
SupplémentUne tranche de concombre de 1 cm d'épaisseur, coupée en quarts

Préparation
Passer tous les liquides au shaker avec des glaçons. Verser le contenu dans un verre (5 dl). Ajouter les quarts de concombre.  

L’astuce d’Elli:
„Grâce à la tranche de concombre on ne sent pas trop l’alcool.“ Elli a choisi d’appeler son cocktail „The Green Harry“  parce que le sorcier le plus connu s’appelle Potter, Harry Potter, et vert, parce que c’est la couleur des sorcières (Hexenbar).

Zermatt Tourismus | Tel +41 27 966 81 00 | info@zermatt.ch