Language: English
Zermatt. No matter what
 
You are here: _ Home

Sunnegga Funicular: New start on June 15th 2013

24.04.2013

Judging from the reactions on our Facebook page, many of our guests and visitors had clearly grown very fond of the Sunnegga Funicular. Some may even have shed the odd tear or two. The new set of carriages is to go into service on June 15th 2013 with a new self-service loading option for bikes and luggage.

Gone is the old Sunnegga Funicular, or “boneshaker” as it is fondly remembered by all and sundry. It was in service from November 28th 1980 to April 21st 2013. But now the four carriages have been shunted out of the tunnel and lifted by crane onto a special load-carrying unit to be taken back down to the valley for disposal. With carriages weighing no less than nine tonnes, it took all the expertise and skill of the transport specialists on both the crane and the loading units. Once in the valley the carriages will be dismantled and properly disposed of.

Rail enthusiasts in mourning
As the entries on our Facebook page (Facebook timeline of April 24th 2013) shows, the Sunnegga Express clearly had lots of fans. While some remember the ride as being quite daunting, others associate the trip through the tunnel with some of the best emotions Zermatt has to offer – getting to the ski slopes and hiking trails. Others still remember its predecessor, the old chairlift which, in winter, also provided woollen blankets. There have even been suggestions for its further use: turning the carriages into a piste bar; lowering the carriages into Zermatt’s Vispa river for divers to explore. 

So we have to agree with our Facebook fans: the old rattling Sunnegga Express certainly did a good job. And now, farewell!

Re-opening in mid-June 2013
Our specialists are now working in multiple shifts to lay new tracks and carry out other upgrades. Later the new carriages will be delivered, with the line scheduled to re-open on June 15th 2013. From then on, guests and visitors will be able to glide almost silently through the tunnel, up into the mountains to Sunnegga. Another innovation is that mountain bikers themselves will be able to lift their bikes onto the platform specially designed for mountain bikes and luggage.

After that, it’s bon voyage for everyone! And auf Wiedersehen, this summer!


Zermatt Tourismus | Tel +41 27 966 81 00 | info@zermatt.ch

Langue: Français
Zermatt. No matter what
 
Vous êtes ici: _ Home

Funiculaire Sunnegga: Réouverture le 15 juin 2013

24.04.2013

Nos visiteurs le portaient dans leur cœur, le funiculaire Sunegga. C’est du moins ce que suggèrent les réactions sur notre page Facebook. En résumé: snif! Les nouvelles compositions ferroviaires circuleront dès le 15 juin 2013. Nouveauté: possibilité de chargement individuel de VTT et de bagages.

Les visiteurs l’appelaient affectueusement «Rumpelkiste» (caisse à cahots). Désormais, le vieux téléphérique Sunnegga n’existe plus. Il a parcouru les rails vaillamment du 28 novembre 1980 au 21 avril 2013. À présent, les quatre wagons ont été extraits du tunnel et placés sur un train spécial pour être emmenés dans la vallée où ils seront démantelés. Avec un poids de neuf tonnes par wagon, le transport à l’aide de la grue et des trains routiers a requis une véritable prouesse logistique de la part des techniciens impliqués. Une fois parvenus dans la vallée, les wagons seront démolis et éliminés de manière adéquate.

Fans en deuil
De toute évidence, le Sunnegga Express avait un grand nombre de fans. C’est du moins ce que suggèrent les commentaires sur notre page Facebook (chronique du 24 avril 2013). Si les voyages à travers le tunnel furent une source d’appréhension pour certains, d’autres y associent leurs plus belles émotions zermattoises avec pistes enneigées et randonnées aventureuses. Certains se souviennent même de son prédécesseur, l’ancien télésiège qui en hiver était équipé de couvertures en laine. Il y eut même des propositions de recyclage pour les wagons: en faire des bars sur les pistes, les immerger dans la Viège pour en faire un paradis de la plongée…

Oui, nous sommes d’accord avec nos fans sur Facebook - le Sunnegga Express a bien brinquebalé. Au revoir!

Réouverture mi-juin 2013

Désormais, les techniciens travaillent d’arrache-pied pour poser les nouveaux rails et effectuer des travaux de rénovation supplémentaires. Les nouveaux wagons seront livrés ultérieurement. La réouverture est prévue le 15 juin 2013. Les voyageurs glisseront presque sans bruit à travers le tunnel pour accéder aux montagnes et au domaine de Sunnegga. Nouveautés: les vététistes pourront charger leurs vélos eux-mêmes sur les plateformes à bagages spécialement prévues à cet effet.

Nous souhaitons à tous nos visiteurs un bon voyage! À tout bientôt - cet été!

Zermatt Tourismus | Tel +41 27 966 81 00 | info@zermatt.ch