Language: English
Zermatt. No matter what
 
You are here: _ Home

Randa: The Schalijoch Bivouc celebrates 50 years of existence

31.05.2013

The Schalijoch bivouac has a birthday. 50 years ago the Basel section of the SAC (Swiss Alpine Club) built this bivouac on the ascent route of the south-west ridge to the summit of the Weisshorn. The birthday party takes place on 8 June in Randa.

On 8 June 2013, from 7.30 pm onwards, Randa will be celebrating the Schalijoch bivouac, with mountain guides, representatives of the Basel section of the SAC, and interested mountain enthusiasts. The same day sees the appearance of the specially created commemorative publication named “Festschrift” on the history of the bivouac

Only for hardened climbers
The south-west ridge route is the most difficult route up the Weisshorn (4,505 m). It is therefore the least travelled, and is only suitable for very experienced and well-trained alpinists who take the route with a mountain guide and crampons. Starting point is the Rothorn hut, then 6-7 hours climb to the Schalijoch bivouac. From there a further stretch of approximately 5 hours to the summit of the Weisshorn. For this route there is only a small time frame in summer for the ascent – mostly periods of several days of fine weather in August. For all three Weisshorn ascent routes it is recommended to engage a mountain guide. The “simplest” route is the east ridge –  which is also the most travelled. From Randa via the Weisshorn hut. The second most travelled route leads over the north ridge. The starting point is Zinal, Cabane de Tracuit and head for the summit.

Celebrating 50 years in Randa
Saturday, 8 June 2013, from 7.30 pm 
Randa multi-purpose hall
Cocktails and conviviality 
Book launch “50 years Schalijoch bivouac”
Musical setting: village music “Weisshorn”
To order the Festschrift “50 years Schalijoch bivouac”: Telephone +41 (0) 78 812 83 61

Zermatt Tourismus | Tel +41 27 966 81 00 | info@zermatt.ch

Langue: Français
Zermatt. No matter what
 
Vous êtes ici: _ Home

Randa: le Schalijoch Bivouac fête ses 50 ans d’existence

31.05.2013

Le bivouac du Schalijoch fête son anniversaire. Voici 50 ans, la section CAS (Club Alpin Suisse) de Bâle construisait ce bivouac sur la route d’ascension par l’arête sud-ouest menant au sommet du Weisshorn. Le 8 juin 2013 se tiendra une fête d’anniversaire à Randa.

Randa célébrera, dès 19h30 le samedi 8 juin 2013 le bivouac du Schalijoch, en compagnie de guides de montagne, de représentants de la section SAC de Bâle ainsi que d’amants de la montagne. Le même jour paraîtra une brochure commémorative relatant l’histoire du bivouac et conçue à l’occasion de ce jubilé.

Pour les plus aguerris uniquement
La route par l’arête sud-ouest constitue la voie d’ascension du Weisshorn (4505 m) la plus difficile. Elle est ainsi la moins pratiquée et ne s’adresse qu’à des alpinistes très expérimentés et bien entraînés qui l’empruntent avec un guide de montagne. Départ possible à partir de la cabane du Rothorn. Puis 6 à 7 heures d’ascension jusqu’au bivouac du Schalijoch. De là, environ 5 heures encore pour atteindre le sommet du Weisshorn. Cette route peut être pratiquée que en été, pendant de petites fenêtres de temps – essentiellement au cours de belles périodes estivales de plusieurs jours en août.  Il est recommandé d’engager un guide de montagne pour les trois voies d’ascension du Weisshorn. La route «la plus facile» passe par l’arête est – elle est également la plus fréquentée. À partir de Randa via la cabane du Weisshorn. La deuxième route la plus pratiquée mène au sommet par l’arête nord. Point de départ: Zinal, la cabane de Tracuit puis direction le sommet.

Fête à Randa pour le 50ème anniversaire
Samedi 8 juin, dès 19h30
Salle polyvalente de Randa
Verre de l’amitié avec tous les convives  Vernissage du livre «50 ans du bivouac du Schalijoch»
Fond musical d’accompagnement: musique du village «Weisshorn»
Commande de la brochure commémorative «50 ans du bivouac du Schalijoch»:
Téléphone +41 (0) 78 812 83 61

Zermatt Tourismus | Tel +41 27 966 81 00 | info@zermatt.ch