Language: English
Zermatt. No matter what
 
You are here: _ Home

Zermatt – the culinary paradise

11.10.2012

20 Zermatt restaurants have been included in the latest edition of the most popular Swiss restaurant guide, the Gault Millau 2013, together amassing a total of 248 points. Regular guests know that Zermatt is synonymous with pure indulgence. Zermatt's restaurants have thus once again performed to their best and overall are showing their sunniest side to the culinary world.

"The residents of Zermatt and their guests are spoiled by the very best mountain restaurants in the Alps. Hotels with ambitious chefs…" The Gault Millau (GM) is full of praise for Zermatt in its 2013 edition. Now 20 restaurants have successfully been included (18 up to now) and all together have amassed a total of 248 points (246 up to now). The publishers of the Gault Millau write in their press release: "Gastronomic power continues to rise as before in Zermatt: the cuisine in the wonderful restaurants lining the ski runs is consistently good. There has been some change in the village but the density is impressive." The Gault Millau tasters have designated the boys from the isle of Capri as the undisputed "top dogs", who never cease to "amaze us every year" in the Mont Cervin Palace (Le Capri Restaurant).

New establishments in the mix
The Omnia has been waiting a long time for its Gault Millau entry and now it's a case of "Welcome to the Club!" states the restaurant guide, referring to the 14-point performance by its chef Patrick Weber. The "Heimberg" Restaurant was also able to climb up the rankings. Christian Geisler garnered praise with the entry, "What the young chef from Salzburg, Christian Giesler, serves up, deserves to earn great praise," gaining the "Heimberg" 14 points (13 up to now). The press release goes even further: "Christian Geisler is the shooting star in the village. … we expect great things from him."

The Restaurant Dolce Vita is a new addition, although without an entry with points, as Roland Kilian only works in the Dolce Vita in Zermatt in winter. Like other chefs in Zermatt practically overwinters here like a migratory bird. He is now here for the second time (2012/2013 season).

The Hotel Matthiol also managed only an entry, as Chef Maria Gross is moving on with Patrick Zeh stepping into her shoes. He first needs to prove himself.

Nine Zermatt hotels included Tourists continue to seek out beautiful hotels where they can enjoy outstanding food. Of the 100 hotels designated by Gault Millau as "Gourmet Hotels", nine of them are now in Zermatt. This is because the Hotel The Omnia is now in the club, too. Zermatt has a total of over 150 restaurants, 50 of which are mountain restaurants plus a further 50 bars and nightclubs.


Creation in the Hotel the Omnia

Patrick Weber, Executive Chef in the Hotel The Omnia, is now included with 14 Gault Millau points.


The 20 best restaurants in Zermatt  
  Gault Millau points
   
Hotel Alpenhof, Restaurant Le Gourmet 15
Hotel Cervo 13
Restaurant China Garden 13
Restaurant Dolce Vita o.N., (new)
Findlerhof Mountain Restaurant 14
Restaurant Chez Heini 13
Restaurant Heimberg 14 (+1)
Hotel Matthiol unclassified
Hotel Mirabeau, Restaurant Le Corbeau d’Or 15
Hotel Mont Cervin Palace, Ristorante Capri 16
Hotel Mont Cervin Palace, Grill “Le Cervin” 14
Restaurant Myoko 13
Hotel The Omnia 14 (new)
Hotel Post, Restaurant Portofino 13
Hotel Schönegg, Restaurant Gourmetstübli 15
Hotel Riffelalp Resort, Lounge / Al Bosco 13
Hotel Sonnmatten 13
Restaurant Zum See bei Max und Greti 14
Chez Vrony Mountain Restaurant 13
Grand Hotel Zermatterhof, Restaurant Prato Borni 13
   
Total of restaurants with GaultMillau points 20 (totally 248 points)
   


Note:

unclassified: Two Zermatt restaurants have not been awarded points but have still been included. This is because the chef's successor must first prove himself (Matthiol) and because Roland Kilian is "only" working as a guest chef (Dolce Vita). However, he has cooked his way to 16 points in his former Rebstock Restaurant in Tschugg (Berne).

 

Zermatt Tourismus | Tel +41 27 966 81 00 | info@zermatt.ch

Langue: Français
Zermatt. No matter what
 
Vous êtes ici: _ Home

Zermatt – le paradis des papilles

11.10.2012

20 restaurants zermattois sont maintenant cités dans l’édition du guide gastronomique le plus populaire de Suisse: le Gault Millau 2013. Ils réunissent au total 248 points. Les habitués le savent: Zermatt rime avec pur plaisir gastronomique. Une fois de plus, les restaurants de la destination gâtent leurs dîneurs.

"Tout va bien pour les zermattois et leurs hôtes: les plus beaux restaurants de piste des Alpes. Des hôtels abritant des chefs ambitieux …" Le GaultMillau (GM) fait l‘éloge de Zermatt dans son édition 2013. Ce sont à présent 20 établissements (18 auparavant) qui y sont répertoriés, l’ensemble réunissant un total de 248 points (246 à ce jour). Dans leur communiqué de presse, les éditeurs du GaultMillau déclarent: "La puissance culinaire continue d‘évoluer à Zermatt, avec une qualité qui ne failit pas dans les merveilleux restaurants au bord des pistes. Si le village connaît quelques changements, la densité en impose toutefois. » Les critiques du GaultMillau désignent pour "chef de file" le team de Capri qui "crée chaque année l‘évènement" au Mont Cervin Palace (restaurant Le Capri).

Arrivée de nouveaux établissements

"Cela fait longtemps que l’Omnia attendait d’entrer au GaultMillau. C’est dorénavant chose faite: bienvenue au club!" écrit le éditeur du guide à propos des 14 points attribués au chef Patrick Weber. Le restaurant "Heimberg" a réussi à progresser. Christian Geisler s’est vu tresser des lauriers avec ce commentaire: "Ce que Christian Giesler, ce jeune cuisinier de Salzbourg, propose dans l’assiette mérite bien des louanges." Le communiqué va plus loin: "Christian Geisler est l’étoile filante du village. … nous l’estimons capable de bien davantage."

Un tout nouvel arrivant est le restaurant Dolce Vita. Même si le guide ne lui a donné pas encore de points, parce que son cuisinier Roland Kilian officie au Dolce Vita de Zermatt en hiver seulement. Comme d’autres chefs de la station qui ne passent en ce lieu que la saison froide, pareils à des oiseaux migrateurs. La seconde fois déjà pour lui (saison 2012/2013).

Quant à l‘Hôtel Matthiol, il ne décroche plus qu’une citation. En raison du départ du chef Maria Gross. Patrick Zeh lui succède et doit d’abord faire ses preuves.

Neufs hôtels zermattois

Les touristes recherchent toujours de beaux hôtels capables de leur offrir une cuisine d’excellence. Sur les 100 hôtels qualifiés par GaultMillau de "gastronomiques", neuf se trouvent à Zermatt. Et ce parce que l‘hôtel The Omnia a rejoint le club. Zermatt compte au total plus de 150 restaurants, dont 50 restaurants de montagne. Et à tout il faut ajouter 50 bars et discothèques.


Création à l‘hôtel The Omnia

Patrick Weber, cuisinier en chef à The Omnia, a désormais rejoint le club avec 14 points GaultMillau.


Les 20 meilleurs restaurants de Zermatt  
  Points GaultMillau
   
Hôtel Alpenhof, restaurant Le Gourmet 15
Hôtel Cervo 13
Restaurant China Garden 13
Restaurant Dolce Vita s.p., (nouveau)
Restaurant de montagne Findlerhof 14
Restaurant Chez Heini 13
Restaurant Heimberg 14 (+1)
Hôtel Matthiol s.p.
Hôtel Mirabeau, restaurant Le Corbeau d’Or 15
Hôtel Mont Cervin Palace, Ristorante Capri 16
Hôtel Mont Cervin Palace, Grill “Le Cervin” 14
Restaurant Myoko 13
Hôtel The Omnia 14 (nouveau)
Hôtel Post, restaurant Portofino 13
Hôtel Schönegg, restaurant Gourmetstübli 15
Hôtel Riffelalp Resort, Lounge / Al Bosco 13
Hôtel Sonnmatten 13
Restaurant de montagne Zum See bei Max und Greti 14
Restaurant de montagne Chez Vrony 13
Grand Hôtel Zermatterhof, restaurant Prato Borni 13
   
Total de restaurants avec des points GaultMillau 20 (points en total: 248)
   

Annotation:
s.p. [sans points]: Bien que deux restaurants de Zermatt n’aient aucun point, ils sont néanmoins cités dans le guide. D’une part parce que le successeur du chef doit commencer par montrer ce qu’il sait faire (Matthiol), et d’autre part parce que Roland Kilian officie "seulement" en tant que "cuisinier-invité" (Dolce Vita). Ce dernier s’était vu toutefois décerner 16 points dans son ancien restaurant Rebstock à Tschugg (BE).

 

Zermatt Tourismus | Tel +41 27 966 81 00 | info@zermatt.ch