Language: English
Zermatt. No matter what
 

*In the midst of 38 4000

Bishorn (4,153 m.a.s.l.)

The Bishorn is located above Zinal and, together with the Diablons, forms the north end of the Dent-Blanche nappe. It is in the immediate vicinity of the Weisshorn, and has two summits. From the West Summit, there is an impressive view of the Weisshorn Ridge, of which the Bishorn is an extension. The ascent from the Cabane de Tracuit via the North-west Flank to the East Ridge is regarded as being one of the easiest 4,000-metre routes in the Alps. 

Origin of the name 
We are looking for the origin of the name of this mountain. Send us a story about the origin of the name, and, with a bit of luck, you could win an evening meal in Zermatt to the value of CHF 150.--! The best story among all those submitted will be the winner. One attempt per participant only. E-Mail: valerie.perren@zermatt.ch

History / legends 
“The happiness that the mountains give their loyal followers is a very special thing; it cannot be forced. But anyone who feels this happiness will be forever under the spell of the mountains. They make him infinitely rich, and I also believe that he can never be completely poor again!” These are the words of Eleonore Noll-Hasenclever (1880 – 1925), describing the attraction of the Bishorn. The successful German lady mountaineer is buried in Zermatt, having lost her life in the descent from the Bishorn. Her gravestone can be found in the Mountaineers’ Cemetery in Zermatt. She was taught the fundamentals of alpinism by Alexander Burgener from Saas Fee, who was probably the most popular mountain guide of the Belle Époque. She climbed the Matterhorn eight times, and a total of 21 4,000-metre summits. Eleonore Noll-Hasenclever wrote a number of books about her experiences in the Alps, including “The Ascent of the Dôme de Rochefort over the Aiguille de Rochefort and the Mont Mallet” and “In den Saaser Bergen (In the Saas Mountains)”. Her memoirs were published in 1932 under the title “Under the Spell of the Mountains (Den Bergen verfallen)”. 

Height

4,153 m.a.s.l.

First climbed

18th August 1884

First climbed by

G.S. Barnes, R. Chessyre-Walker, Joseph Imboden, J.M. Chanton


Information for hikers

Different hiking tips with a view of the mountain

Part of the Europaweg Trail from Sunnegga to the Europahütte cabin

Mountain cabins en route / picnic opportunities

Sunnegga, Europaweg cabin, Europahütte cabin

Mountain railway offers

Prices

Information for excursions

Information about the various peaks

You have the best view of the Bishorn from the Sunnegga
With the Sunnegga Express Zermatt – Sunnegga - Zermatt

Short, easy walks or hike

Sunnegga - Tuftern - Sunnegga

Information for mountaineers / alpinists

Valley location

Zinal (1,675 m.a.s.l.)
Gruben (1,822 m.a.s.l.)

Starting point

Cabane de Tracuit (3,265 m.a.s.l.)
Turtmannhütte cabin (2,519 m.a.s.l.)

Various routes

The starting point for the normal route over the North-west Flank is the Cabane de Tracuit (3,265 m), which can be reached from Zinal (1'675 m). Crossing the Bishorn via the normal route and the South-west Ridge to the Weisshorn Col is the best ascent to the Weisshorn North Ridge. In the spring, you can climb almost all the way to the summit of the Bishorn on skis using the normal route.

North-west side

  • Difficulty: L, I (French scale: F; with I. UIAA-level rock climbing)
  • Duration: 2½ hours
  • Starting point: Cabane de Tracuit (3,265 m)
  • Valley location: Zinal (1,675 m)

North-east Face

  • Difficulty: S, IV (French scale: D; with IV. UIAA-level rock climbing)
  • Duration: 8 hours
  • Starting point: Turtmannhütte cabin (2,519 m)
  • Valley location: Gruben (1,822 m)

Refreshment areas / mountain cabins

Cabane de Tracuit (3,265 m.a.s.l.)
Turtmannhütte cabin (2,519 m.a.s.l.)



Zermatt Tourismus | Tel +41 27 966 81 00 | info@zermatt.ch

Langue: Français
Zermatt. No matter what
 

*Au cœur de 38 4mille

Vous êtes ici: _ Home _ Au cœur de 38 4mille

Bishorn (4153 m)

Le Bishorn se dresse au-dessus de Zinal et forme avec les Diablons la frange nord de la couronne de la Dent Blanche. Située à proximité directe du Weisshorn, c’est une montagne à deux sommets. Du sommet ouest, la vue sur le Weisshorngrat, dont le Bishorn est la prolongation, est impressionnante. L’ascension par le flanc Nord-Ouest jusqu’à l’arête Ouest est l’une des courses les plus faciles des Alpes pour accéder à un 4000.

Origine du nom
Nous recherchons l'origine du nom de cette montagne. Envoyez-nous l'origine du nom et avec un peu de chance, vous gagnerez un dîner à Zermatt d’une valeur de CHF 150.--! Parmi tous les envois, la meilleure histoire gagne. Une chance de gagner par participant. E-Mail: valerie.perren@zermatt.ch

Histoire / légende
„Le bonheur qu’offre la montagne à ses adeptes est d’une nature à part; on ne peut pas s’y forcer. Il suffit d‘avoir connu ce bonheur une fois pour succomber pour toujours à son attirance. La montagne est une telle source d’enrichissement que l’alpiniste ne connaîtra jamais plus la vraie pauvreté!“ voici ce que disait Eleonore Noll-Hasenclever (1880 – 1925) en référence au Bishorn. L’alpiniste allemande réputée est enterrée à Zermatt. Elle perdit la vie en descendant du Bishorn. Sa tombe se trouve dans le cimetière des alpinistes de Zermatt. Alexander Burgener de Saas Fee, le guide de montagne le plus réputé de la Belle Epoque lui avait enseigné les rudiments de l’alpinisme. Elle fit l’ascension de 21 4000 et huit fois celle du Cervin. Eleonore Noll-Hasenclever a publié plusieurs livres relatant ses expériences en montagne dont „Die Besteigung des Dôme de Rochefort über die Aiguille de Rochefort und des Mont Mallet“ et „In den Saaser Bergen“. Ses mémoires ont été publiées en 1932 sous le titre „Den Bergen verfallen“.

Altitude

4153 m

Première ascension

18 août 1884

Les premiers à réaliser l‘ascension

G.S. Barnes, R. Chessyre-Walker, Joseph Imboden, J.M. Chanton


Informations pour les randonneurs

Conseils de randonnée avec vue sur la montagne

Une partie de l’Europaweg de Sunnegga à l’Europahütte

Cabanes en chemin/pique-nique

Sunnegga, Europaweghütte, Europahütte

Offres des remontées mécaniques

Tarifs

Informations pour les promeneurs

Infos sur les Peaks

Vue superbe sur le Bishorn de la Sunnegga 
Avec le Sunnegga Express Zermatt - Sunnegga - Zermatt

Petites promenades faciles ou randonnées

Sunnegga - Tuftern -Sunnegga

Informations pour les alpinistes

Vallée

Zinal (1675 m)
Gruben (1822 m)

Point de départ

Cabane de Tracuit (3265 m)
Cabane de Turtmann (2519 m)

Divers itinéraires avec degré de difficulté et durée

La cabane de Tracuit (3265 m) est le point de départ pour la voie normale par le flanc Nord-Ouest, on y accède depuis Zinal (1675 m). La meilleure option pour rejoindre l’arête Nord du Weisshorn est de monter au Bishorn par la voie normale et l’arête Sud-Ouest jusqu'au Weisshornjoch. Au printemps, l’ascension par la voie normale peut se faire à ski presque jusqu’au sommet du Bishorn. 

Flanc Nord-Ouest

  • Difficulté: F, UIAA I
  • Durée: 2h½  
  • Point de départ: Cabane de Tracuit (3265 m)
  • Vallée: Zinal (1675 m)

Face Nord-Est

  • Difficulté: D, passages d’escalade UIAA IV
  • Durée: 8 heures
  • Point de départ: cabane de Turtmann (2519 m)
  • Vallée: Gruben (1822 m)

Lieux de restauration / refuges

Cabane de Tracuit (3265 m)
Cabane de Turtmann (2519 m)



Zermatt Tourismus | Tel +41 27 966 81 00 | info@zermatt.ch