Language: English
Zermatt. No matter what
 

*150th anniversary of the first ascent of the Matterhorn

You are here: _ Home _ 150th anniversary of the first ascent of the Matterhorn _ Information about the Matterhorn

Information about the Matterhorn

The Matterhorn is more than a wonder of creation. Through its shape and its unique solitary position, it is considered to be the epitome of a mountain. But there’s even more: there is no better-known mountain in the world whose natural shape comes as close to a pyramid as the Matterhorn. The pyramid shape symbolises the link between nature and culture, landscape and history. As a result of enormous forces, Africa moved closer to Europe 100 million years ago, and the ocean between the two continents began to recede. 50 million years later, large groups of rocks began to deform and fold, and the Matterhorn was born from the rock masses forcing their way upwards. It is a landmark and symbol of Switzerland, and the most beautiful and most photographed mountain in the world.

The Matterhorn was climbed for the first time on the 14th July 1865. Four of the seven men – led by the Englishman Edward Whymper – lost their lives as a result. Everyone was talking about Zermatt and the tragedy on the Matterhorn. The rope that connected Edward Whymper and father and son Taugwalder from Zermatt to the rest of the unfortunate rope group, and which broke during the descent, is displayed in the Matterhorn Museum alongside other relics of the first ascent.

Origin of the name
The Matterhorn is first mentioned in medieval documents as “Mons Silvus”. The name later mutated into “Mons Servinus” and “Mons Servin”, and finally became “Cervin” in French and “Cervino” in Italian. Etymologists disagree about the origin, however: some believe that it was the Latin word “silva” (forest), while others support the Italian word “cervo” (stag). The Matterhorn was first referred to in writing as “Mont Cervin” in 1581, and later also as “Monte Silvio” and “Monte Servino”. The German name “Matterhorn” first appears in the year 1682. The name is probably derived from the “Matte”, meaning meadow, referring to the grassy extended valley under the Gornerschlucht gorge, which has now been almost completely covered by the village of Zermatt (“zur Matt”). The mountain is also known by the locals as “ds'Hore” (= das Horn (the peak) in Zermatt dialect) or “ds'Horu” (in Upper Valais dialect).

History
From 1857 onwards, several unsuccessful attempts were made to climb the Matterhorn, mostly from the Italian side. When Edward Whymper arrived in Valtournenche in July 1865, this was already his sixth summer season in the area. During the previous five summers, Whymper has failed to climb the mountain that was regarded here as the King of the Alps and was considered to be unclimbable. It is not the highest summit, as the Monte Rosa, which is almost directly opposite, is higher by almost 170 metres, but the rock pyramid, commanding respect enthroned on the massive body of rock that makes it unique, had previously defeated all would-be conquerors. Each unsuccessful climb strengthened the superstition of the unconquerable mountain, so that even experienced local mountain guides often turned down generous offers from the leaders of foreign expeditions. But the Briton did not believe in mountain demons, and his project was based on calm considerations. He had studied the books the books of Horace Bénédict de Saussure and had come to the conclusion that the mountain could be conquered from the Swiss north-east ridge, and not from the Italian south-west. It was not Breuil that would be his starting point, but Zermatt! The place where the Mont Cervin was known as the Matterhorn. The Englishman Edward Whymper had once fallen almost 60 metres there.
In 1862, John Tyndall was the first to climb the south-west shoulder, today’s Pic Tyndall, together with the guides Bennen, Anton Walter, Jean-Jacques and Jean-Antoine Carrel. The continuation of the ascent along the Liongrat ridge seemed impossible to him. Whymper also regarded the Liongrat ridge as being unfeasible. He therefore attempted to persuade his friend Jean-Antoine Carrel to attempt an ascent from the Zermatt side, but the latter insisted that he wanted to climb from the Italian side. In July 1865, Whymper happened to learn from a publican in Breuil that Carrel had set off for the Liongrat ridge again– without informing Whymper. Whymper felt he had been deceived, and hurried to Zermatt in order to assemble a group for an immediate attempt via the Hörnligrat ridge.

On the 14th July 1865, the mountain was successfully climbed for the first time by Whymper’s 7-man rope group. The group climbed onto the shoulder over the Hörnligrat ridge and, further up, in the area of today’s fixed ropes, diverted onto the north face. Edward Whymper was the first to reach the summit, followed by the mountain guide Michel Croz (from Chamonix), the Reverend Charles Hudson, Lord Francis Douglas, D. Robert Hadow (all from England) and the Zermatt mountain guides Peter Taugwalder senior and Peter Taugwalder son. They spotted Carrel and his group far below on the Pic Tyndall. As the climbers were descending again, and while still above the so-called “Schulter (shoulder)”, the four leading men in the rope group (Croz, Hadow, Hudson and Douglas) fell to their deaths over the north face. Three of the dead were recovered several days later on the Matterhorn glacier, but the remains of Lord Francis Douglas were never found. Carrel also reached the summit three days later by traversing from the north end of the Italian shoulder through the upper west face and onto the Zmuttgrat ridge (the so-called Galleria Carrel), and then completed the ascent along the ridge.

Records on the Matterhorn
  • Solo ascent of the Matterhorn Nord Face in 1:56 hours by Ueli Steck
  • From Zermatt to the summit on foot in 3:45 hours by Troillet, Marti, Farquet
  • From the Hörnlihütte cabin to the summit and back to the cabin in 2:33 hours by Simon Anthamatten and Michael Lerjen
  • Oldest successful climber: Ulrich Inderbinen climbed the Matterhorn in 1990 at 90 years of age
  • The youngest successful climber was Kevin Lauber (son of the longtime hut warden of the Hörnli hut), who climbed the Matterhorn for the first time in 1999 at the age of 8
  • The mountain has been climbed the greatest number of times by the mountain guide Richard Andenmatten: he has reached the summit more than 800 times
  • The Zermatt mountain guide Andreas Steindl, back then 22 years old, succeeded in running from the Zollhaus in Zermatt at the end of the village to the summit of the Matterhorn in 2 hours and 57 minutes. Date: 23th August 2011
  • End of September 2011 the Zermatt mountain climbers Patrik Aufdenblatten and Michael Lerjen climbed the Matterhorn North Face via the Bonatti route in 7 hours and 14 minutes


Facts and figures
Height4,478 m a.s.l.
First ascent14th July 1865
Routes
  • The Furggrat, Hörnligrat and Zmuttgrat ridges are the well-known ridges
  • Route most often used: Hörnligrat
  • Most difficult routes: on the North Face
Number of deaths
since the first ascent
500 (as of the end of the summer season 2011). Every year, between
300 - 400 persons attempt to reach the summit of the Matterhorn with a mountain guide. Of these, approx. 20 fail to reach the summit. Around 3,500 persons try to reach it without a mountain guide every year, of which, from experience, around 65% give up the attempt. The reason usually lies in lack of condition and the onset of vertigo. The weather is also often a factor, as weather conditions can change very quickly (drop in temperature, thunderstorms). Rescues often have to be initiated by Air Zermatt (founded in 1968). On a day with ideal conditions, up to 300 alpinists climb the “Hore”.
 
Ideal time for an ascentJuly to September
  
  
Zermatt Tourismus | Tel +41 27 966 81 00 | info@zermatt.ch

Langue: Français
Zermatt. No matter what
 

*150e anniversaire de la première ascension

Vous êtes ici: _ Home _ 150e anniversaire de la première ascension _ Informations sur le Cervin

Informations sur le Cervin

Le Cervin est bien plus qu’un miracle de la création. Sa forme et sa position isolée lui valent le statut de montagne iconique par excellence. Mais ce n’est pas tout: le Cervin est la seule montagne au monde à présenter une forme de pyramide naturelle. La forme pyramidale symbolise l’union de la nature et de la culture, du paysage et de l’histoire. Voici 100 millions d’années, d’énormes mouvements de compression des plaques tectoniques rapprochèrent les continents africains et européens. L’océan entre les continents se résorba progressivement. 50 millions d’années plus tard, d’énormes amas rocheux se mirent à se déformer et à se superposer. Les masses rocheuses propulsées vers la surface donnèrent lieu au Cervin - emblème de la Suisse par excellence, la plus belle montagne du monde en est également le sommet le plus photographié.

Le 14 juillet 1865, le sommet du Cervin fut conquis pour la première fois. Parmi les sept jeunes hommes guidés par le Britannique Edward Whymper, quatre perdirent la vie au cours de l’exploit. Zermatt et l’accident du Cervin firent le tour du monde. La corde qui reliait Edward Whymper, le père et le fils Taugwalder de Zermatt ainsi que le reste de la malheureuse cordée, et qui se rompit lors de la descente est désormais exposée aux côtés d’autres reliques de cette première ascension dans le Musée du Cervin.

L’origine du nom
Dans les écrits médiévaux, le Cervin est désigné par le nom «Mons Silvus». Le nom se transforma par la suite en «Mons Servinus», puis «Mons Servin» avant de devenir «Cervin» en français et «Cervino» en italien. Les étymologues ont du mal à se mettre d’accord sur l’origine de ce nom: certains d’entre eux penchent pour le mot latin «silva» (forêt), tandis que d’autres y décèlent le mot italien «cervo» (cerf).
C’est en 1581 que le Cervin fut mentionné pour la première fois sous le nom de «Mont Cervin»; plus tard, on trouve également les noms de «Monte Silvio» et «Monte Servino». Le nom allemand «Matterhorn» apparaît en l’an 1682. Il provient vraisemblablement du mot «Matte», c’est-à-dire l’élargissement de la plaine alluviale herbeuse en aval des gorges du Gorner, aujourd’hui presque complètement occupée par le village de Zermatt («zur Matt»). Au sein de la population locale, la montagne est également appelée «ds’Hore» (= la corne en dialecte zermattois) ou «ds’Horu» (dialecte haut-valaisan).

Histoire
Depuis 1857, de nombreuses tentatives infructueuses pour conquérir le Cervin se succédèrent - généralement depuis le côté italien.

En juillet 1865, Edward Whymper passait déjà son sixième été à Valtournenche. Au cours des cinq étés précédents, Whymper avait échoué lors de ses tentatives de conquérir celle qu’on appelait ici la reine des montagnes, et qui était considérée inexpugnable. Certes, il ne s’agit pas du sommet le plus élevé des Alpes - son voisin le mont Rose le dépasse de presque 170 mètres - mais la pyramide de pierre qui trône impérieusement sur son socle rocheux massif, effrayante et singulière, avait jusqu’ici tenu tête à tous ses assaillants. Chaque ascension avortée venait nourrir le mythe de son invincibilité; ainsi, même les guides de montagnes locaux les plus expérimentés rejetaient fréquemment les offres pourtant généreuses des chefs d’expédition étrangers. Toutefois, le Britannique ne croyait pas aux démons de la montagne, et son ambition était aiguillonnée par des réflexions rationnelles. Il avait étudié les ouvrages de Horace Bénédict de Saussure et était parvenu à la conclusion que la montagne n’était pas approchable par le versant sud-ouest italien, mais par le biais d’un détour le long de l’arête nord-ouest suisse. Le point de départ ne serait ainsi pas Breuil, mais Zermatt - là où le mont Cervin était appelé Matterhorn. Sur cette route, le Britannique Edward Whymper subit d’ailleurs une chute d’environ 60 mètres lors d’une de ses tentatives.
En 1862, accompagné des guides Bennen, Anton Walter, Jean-Jacques et Jean-Antoine Carrel, John Tyndall escalada l’épaule sud-ouest (l’actuel pic Tyndall). La suite de l’ascension le long de l’arête du Lion leur sembla toutefois impossible - un sentiment que Whymper partageait également. Par conséquent, il tenta de convaincre son ami Jean-Antoine Carrel d’attaquer l’ascension du côté de Zermatt, mais celui-ci insista sur une ascension depuis l’Italie. En juillet 1865, un aubergiste de Breuil informa par hasard Whymper que Carrel avait était reparti pour l’arête du Lion sans en informer son ami. Whymper se sentit dupé et se hâta de rejoindre Zermatt pour rassembler un groupe en vue d’une tentative d’ascension immédiate via l’arête du Hörnli.

Le 14 juillet 1865, la cordée de sept hommes de Whymper parvint au sommet du Cervin. Le groupe gagna l’épaule par le biais de l’arête du Hörnli. Plus haut - là où se trouvent aujourd’hui les cordes fixes - elle dévia sa route par la face nord. Edward Whymper fut le premier à atteindre le sommet. Il fut suivi du guide de montagne Michel Croz (de Chamonix), du révérend Charles Hudson, de Lord Francis Douglas, de D. Robert Hadow (tous d’Angleterre) ainsi que des guides zermattois Peter Taugwalder père et Peter Taugwalder fils. Au loin, ils repérèrent Carrel près du pic Tyndall situé en contrebas. Lors de la descente de la troupe victorieuse, les quatre premiers de cordée (Croz, Hadow, Hudson et Douglas) subirent une chute mortelle le long de la face nord, en amont de la fameuse «épaule». Quelques jours plus tard, trois des morts furent découverts sur le glacier du Cervin; le corps de Lord Francis Douglas ne fut quant à lui plus jamais retrouvé. Trois jours plus tard, Carrel réussit lui aussi son ascension. Partant de l’extrémité nord de l’épaule italienne, il traverse la face occidentale supérieure pour rejoindre l’arête de Zmutt (appelée Galleria Carrel) avant de gagner le sommet.

Records sur le Cervin
  • Ueli Steck conquit la face nord du Cervin en solitaire en 1h56
  • Depuis Zermatt, Troillet, Marti et Farquet gagnèrent le sommet à pied en 3h45
  • Simon Anthamatten et Michi Lerjen effectuèrent l’aller-retour depuis la cabane du Hörnli jusqu’au sommet en 2h33
  • L’alpiniste le plus âgé: en 1990, Ulrich Inderbinen escalada le Cervin à l’âge de 90 ans
  • Le plus jeune alpiniste fut Kevin Lauber (fils du gardien de longue date de la cabane du Hörnli), qui escalada pour la première fois le Cervin en 1999, à l’âge de 8 ans
  • Le guide de montagne Richard Andenmatten se targue du plus grand nombre d’ascensions: il gagna le sommet à plus de 800 reprises
  • Le 23 août 2011: alors âgé de 22 ans, le guide zermattois Andreas Steidl gagna le sommet du Cervin en 2h57 en partant au pas de course depuis le bureau de douane au bout du village de Zermatt.
  • La route Bonatti: fin septembre 2011, les alpinistes zermattois Patrik Aufdenblatten et Michael Lerjen conquirent la face nord en 7h14.


Chiffres et faits
Altitude4‘478 mètres
Première ascension14 juillet 1865
Routes
  • Le Furggrat, le Hörnligrat et le Zmuttgrat sont les arêtes les plus connues
  • Route la plus fréquentée: le Hörnligrat.
  • Route la plus difficile: le long de la face nord.
Nombre de morts depuis la
première ascension
500 (état: fin de la saison d’été 2011). Chaque année, entre 300 et 400 personnes tentent de gagner le sommet du Cervin avec un guide de montagne. Parmi ceux-ci, environ 20 n’atteignent pas le sommet. Quelque 3’500 personnes tentent l’exploit sans guide; parmi ceux-ci environ 65% renoncent. La cause de l’échec est souvent due à une condition physique insuffisante ainsi que des vertiges. Souvent, le temps n’est pas de la partie, les conditions météorologiques locales étant très capricieuses (chutes de température, orages). Le sauvetage doit fréquemment être assuré par Air Zermatt (fondé en 1968). Lors de conditions idéales, jusque 300 alpinistes tentent l’exploit.
 
Période idéale pour l’ascensiongde juillet à septembre  
  
  
Zermatt Tourismus | Tel +41 27 966 81 00 | info@zermatt.ch