Hotel Riffelberg

The hotel on the Riffelberg was the first to be built at such an altitude, as well as only the second of Zermatt’s hotels to open. This achievement bears witness to the pioneering spirit of Zermatt’s entrepreneurs.

Description

Under the leadership of the parish priest, Joseph Ruden, three Zermatt residents acquired a piece of land on the Riffelberg from the municipality of Zermatt, and in 1854 built a small guest house with 18 beds. However, construction at an altitude of 2,566 m proved difficult and costly. The builders had to use mules to transport wood from Riffelalp and everything else from Zermatt.

Starting point for the first ascent of the Dufourspitze
Many local people happily predicted the scheme would end in ruin. But they were wrong. For the first time, a hotel built far from civilisation matched the mood of the times. As the pace of industrialisation accelerated, members of the upper classes were eager to escape and discover pristine nature. In fact, the Riffelhaus, built in the shadow of the mightiest mountains in the Alps, was to usher in the golden age of alpinism. Already in its second year (1855), it served as the base for the ascent of Switzerland’s highest summit, the Dufourspitze.
To avoid jealousy, the three owners sold their guest house (1862) to the municipality of Zermatt. Not to make themselves rich, but to show that the future of the poor village lay in tourism. In 1982, the whole hotel underwent renovation; it now has 60 beds. Source: see “Reading”, below.

Tip for visitors

  • Numerous painted portraits of Zermatt mountain guides over two centuries

Reading
“Hotels erzählen – 150 Jahre Riffelberg, 125 Jahre Grand Hotel Zermatterhof”, by Ernesto Perren, published by Rotten Verlag, Visp. In German only. ISBN 3-907624-64-5

Map

Please enter your starting address here

Hôtel Riffelberg

L'hôtel situé sur le Riffelberg fut le premier établissement construit en altitude. Parallèlement, il fut le deuxième hôtel construit à Zermatt. Une telle performance dans les Alpes témoigne de l'esprit pionnier des entrepreneurs de Zermatt.

description

Sous la houlette du prêtre Joseph Ruden, trois habitants de Zermatt acquirent le terrain sur le Riffelberg auprès de la commune de Zermatt et y construisirent, en 1854, une petite auberge de 18 lits. Néanmoins, la construction à 2'566 m se révéla difficile et coûteuse. Il fallait transporter le bois de Riffelalp et le reste de Zermatt à dos de mulets.

Point de départ de la première ascension de la Pointe Dufour
De nombreux indigènes se firent un malin plaisir de prédire la ruine. Mais ils se trompèrent. Pour la première fois, un hôtel se tenait à l'écart de la civilisation, correspondant à la tendance de l'époque. Les couches les plus aisées de la société fuyaient la société industrielle pour revenir à la nature. Ensuite, l'ouverture de l'auberge Riffelhaus, dans l'ombre des imposantes montagnes des Alpes, marqua l'âge d'or de l'alpinisme. Dès sa deuxième année d'exploitation déjà (1855), la plus haute montagne de Suisse, la Pointe Dufour, fut gravie depuis cet endroit.

Pour éviter les jalousies, les trois habitants de Zermatt vendirent leur auberge (1862) à la commune de Zermatt. Ils ne tentaient pas de s'enrichir mais voulaient prouver que l'avenir du pauvre village résidait dans le tourisme. En 1982, la totalité de l'hôtel subit une rénovation. Il dispose désormais de 60 lits. Voir les sources bibliographiques, plus bas.

Conseil pour les visiteurs

  • Nombreux portraits des guides de Zermatt sur deux siècles

Littérature
"Hotels erzählen – 150 Jahre Riffelberg, 125 Jahre Grand Hotel Zermatterhof", Ernesto Perren. Editions Rotten Verlag, Viège. Uniquement disponible en allemand. ISBN 3-907624-64-5

Map

Indiquez ici votre adresse initiale