Haus Taugwalder

The Haus Taugwalder on the Kirchplatz (church square) was home to two local guides – Peter Taugwalder, father and son – at the time they accompanied Edward Whymper on the first ascent of the Matterhorn.


The two Taugwalders, father and son, shared the same first name: Peter. Taugwalder senior worked as a mountain guide, his son as a porter. The British mountaineer Edward Whymper had engaged the pair for his first ascent of the Matterhorn. Taugwalder senior successfully led the party of seven to the summit on 14 July 1865. Alongside his son and Whymper, the group included three Englishmen – Lord Francis Douglas, Charles Hudson and Douglas R. Hadow – and a guide from Chamonix, Michel-Auguste Croz.

On the descent, the 19-year-old Douglas R. Hadow slipped, and as he fell, dragged three of the other climbers off the rock. Peter Taugwalder tried to hold them all with the safety rope but it snapped, sending four people to their deaths: Lord Francis Douglas, Charles Hudson, Douglas R. Hadow and Michel-Auguste Croz. Only Edward Whymper and the two Taugwalders, father and son, survived; they managed to return to the village of Zermatt unharmed.
A rumour circulated that Peter Taugwalder senior might have cut the safety rope in order to save himself. The subsequent legal hearing, however, was unable to prove anything against him. He continued to work as a mountain guide in Zermatt for another couple of years, but the case weighed on him so heavily that he finally emigrated.

The rope put to test
In 2005, the rope manufacturer Mammut made a similar rope to the one used in the first ascent and subsequently declared “corpus delicti”. The company established that a hemp rope of the corresponding thickness can only hold 300 kg: insufficient by a long way to secure four people. Long after the event, then, Peter Taugwalder and Edward Whymper were exonerated. The news arrived too late for Peter Taugwalder. He only returned in old age to Zermatt, where he died.

  • Memorial plaque at Haus Taugwalder
  • Original snapped rope on display at Zermatlantis, the Matterhorn Museum
  • Gravestone of the two guides – Peter Taugwalder, father and son – at the mountaineers’ cemetery
  • Tomb of the mountain guide Michel-Auguste Croz, who fell during the descent, at the mountaineers’ cemetery


Please enter your starting address here

Find the best deals

  • Booking in only 3 minutes
  • Real guest reviews
  • 100% secure booking
Daily activities

Room / Appartment 1

Room / Appartment 2

Room / Appartment 3

Room / Appartment 4

Room / Appartment 5

+ Room / Appartment

Haus Taugwalder

La "Haus Taugwalder" (maison Taugwalder), sur la place de l'église, abritait, à l'époque de la première ascension du Cervin, Peter Taugwalder, père et fils. Ils furent les deux guides locaux à accompagner Edward Whymper.

description

Père et fils Taugwalder portaient tous deux le prénom de Peter. Peter Taugwalder père était guide de montagne. Son fils était porteur. Le Britannique Edward Whymper les avait engagés pour gravir le Cervin. Le 14 juillet 1865, Peter Taugwalder père réussit à conduire cinq personnes sur le Cervin. Accompagnaient Whymper: les trois Anglais Lord Francis Douglas, Charles Hudson, Douglas R. Hadow et le guide Michel-Auguste Croz, de Chamonix.

La tragédie
A la descente, Douglas R. Hadow, âgé de 19 ans, glissa. Quatre personnes tombèrent avec lui et périrent, malgré les tentatives de Peter Taugwalder pour les sauver avec sa corde de sécurité: Lord Francis Douglas, Charles Hudson, Douglas R. Hadow et Michel-Auguste Croz. Seuls Edward Whymper et Peter Taugwalder, père et fils, survécurent. Ils purent rejoindre le village de Zermatt.
La rumeur raconte que Peter Taugwalder père aurait pu lui-même couper la corde de sécurité pour sauver sa vie. Au procès, pourtant, rien ne put être prouvé. Ensuite, Peter Taugwalder travailla encore quelques années en tant que guide. Mais cette affaire lui pesait tant qu'il décida de s'expatrier.

Corde examinée à la loupe
En 2005, l'entreprise de fabrication de cordes Mammut fabrique la même corde que celle utilisée lors de la première ascension et déclarée "corpus delicti". L'entreprise constate qu'une telle corde de chanvre, avec l'épaisseur correspondante, n'aurait pu retenir que 300 kg. Un poids qui ne suffit de loin pas à sécuriser quatre personnes. Ainsi, Peter Taugwalder et Edward Whymper ont été moralement disculpés après coup. Pourtant, l'annonce arrive trop tard pour Peter Taugwalder. Ce n'est que très âgé qu'il revient à Zermatt pour y mourir.

  • Plaque commémorative sur la maison Taugwalder
  • Corde de sécurité (d'origine) au musée du Cervin Zermatlantis
  • Pierre tombale de Peter Taugwalder, père et fils, au cimetière des alpinistes
  • Pierre tombale du guide décédé Michel-Auguste Croz au cimetière des alpinistes

Map

Indiquez ici votre adresse initiale

Trouver les meilleures offres

  • Réservation en 3 minutes seulement
  • Des évaluations véridiques
  • Réservation sûre à 100 %
Météo
Webcams
Plan des pistes
Activités du jour
réserver

Chambre / Appartement 1

Chambre / Appartement 2

Chambre / Appartement 3

Chambre / Appartement 4

Chambre / Appartement 5

+ Chambre / Appartement