Beresina-Haus

An inconspicuous barn stands high above the village of Zermatt, visible to all. It was built in 1811 as a result of developments on the world stage.

Description

A wooden building more than 200 years old stands high above the Triftbach river, opposite the Edelweiss restaurant, at “Turuwang uf dem Pfad”. The barn, built in 1811, recalls the Napoleonic Battle of Beresina (or Berezina), at the Berezina river near today’s border with Belarus.

Recruitment of soldiers for Napoleon

As Napoleon prepared for his Russian campaign, he recruited soldiers from Switzerland and the Valais. Switzerland was then (1803-1813) effectively a French vassal state. About 12,000 Swiss and Valais soldiers formed four regiments. Every village in the Valais was obliged to provide at least one soldier for the Russian campaign. In many places, volunteers stepped forward – mostly from bitter necessity.

In Zermatt, no volunteers could be found. Rather than force somebody to join up or choose someone by lot, the people of Zermatt decided on another procedure. Whoever volunteered to join the army would subsequently receive a barn with surrounding pastures up at the “Fad” on the “Turuwang”. These were times of economic hardship and poverty: in due course, a young man volunteered with a view to receiving the property on his return.

The barn was built, and the volunteer left for war. Sadly, he never returned from Russia and so never took possession of his property. About a thousand Swiss and Valais soldiers lost their lives at the Battle of Beresina, and ever since, locals have called this barn, in local dialect, the “Beresinahüs”.

Facts about Napoleon’s Russian military campaign of 1812

  • 600,000 men fighting with Napoleon, 420,000 men in the army of Tsar Alexander I.
  • 12,000 Swiss soldiers in Napoleon’s army
  • Napoleon’s winter in Moscow: thousands of soldiers die from hunger and disease
  • During the retreat: Battle of Beresina, 26-28 November 1812
  • Sappers work in ice-cold water to improvise pontoons
  • Many die from exposure or drown
  • Swiss rearguard infantry cover the troops retreating across the river, at the end fighting only with bayonets
  • On 26 November only 300 Swiss soldiers still survive; one third are wounded
  • Fewer than 40,000 men of Napoleon’s army join the retreat from the Russian campaign

Source:

Zermatt Inside, 01/2013, “Zermatt anno dazumal - das Beresina-Haus”, by Dr. Thomas Julen, a summary. In German.

Map

Please enter your starting address here

Beresina-Haus

Une étable quelconque se dresse sur les hauteurs du village de Zermatt, visible de tous. Cette bâtisse datant de 1811 est le fruit de circonstances historiques mondiales.

description

En amont du Triftbach, en face du restaurant Edelweiss, près du "Turuwang uf dem Pfad" se dresse une bâtisse de bois de plus de 200 ans, construite en 1811. L'étable rappelle Napoléon et la bataille de la Bérézina, située aujourd'hui sur la frontière avec le Bélarus, d'où son nom "Beresinahaus", la maison de la Bérézina..

Recrutement de soldats pour Napoléon Bonaparte

Alors que Napoléon Bonaparte prépare sa campagne de Russie, il recrute, pour son armée, des soldats de Suisse et du Valais. A l'époque (1803-1813), la Suisse n'est qu'un pays vassal de la France. Quelque 12'000 Suisses et Valaisans forment quatre régiments. Tout village valaisan est alors tenu de mettre à disposition, pour la campagne de Russie, au moins un soldat. Dans certaines bourgades, des volontaires s'engagent, souvent par nécessité.

A Zermatt, aucun volontaire ne répond à l'appel. Pour ne forcer aucun citoyen à s'engager dans l'expédition incertaine de Napoléon ou éviter d'en déterminer un au hasard, les habitants de Zermatt optent pour une autre méthode: si un soldat accepte de s'engager volontairement, il reçoit une étable avec pâturage sur le "Fad" de "Turuwang". De cette manière, les habitants de Zermatt de l'époque sont sûrs de trouver un volontaire, vu la détresse économique et la pauvreté, à qui remettre, à son retour, l'étable promise.

La bâtisse construite, le volontaire part en guerre. Mais il ne reviendra jamais de Russie et ne pourra jamais prendre possession des lieux. Vu que près de mille Suisses et Valaisans ont péri durant la bataille de la Bérézina, l'étable reste, dans le langage populaire, la "Beresinahaus".

Données concernant la campagne de Russie de Napoléon, en 1812

  • 600'000 hommes dans l'armée de Napoléon, 420'000 hommes dans celle du Tsar Alexandre Ier
  • 12'000 soldats suisses dans l'armée de Napoléon
  • L'hiver de Napoléon à Moscou: des milliers de soldats meurent de faim et des suites de maladie
  • Bataille lors de le retraite, au bord de la rivière Bérézina, du 26 au 28 novembre 1812
  • Les pontonniers construisent peu de ponts et se retrouvent dans les eaux glacées
  • Nombre d'entre eux meurent de froid ou se noient
  • Les Suisses affrontent l'armée qui traverse la rivière, à la fin, ils chargent uniquement à la baïonnette
  • Le 26 novembre, seuls 300 Suisses sont encore en vie, 1/3 d'entre eux sont blessés
  • Moins de 40'000 hommes de l'armée napoléonienne peuvent battre en retraite de Russe

Source:

Zermatt Inside, 01/2013, "Zermatt anno dazumal - das Beresina-Haus", de Dr Thomas Julen, un résumé.

Map

Indiquez ici votre adresse initiale

Trouver les meilleures offres

  • Réservation en 3 minutes seulement
  • Des évaluations véridiques
  • Réservation sûre à 100 %
Météo
Webcams
Plan des pistes
Activités du jour
réserver

Chambre / Appartement 1

Chambre / Appartement 2

Chambre / Appartement 3

Chambre / Appartement 4

Chambre / Appartement 5

+ Chambre / Appartement