Language: English
Zermatt. No matter what
 

*Zermatt / Matterhorn

You are here: _ Home _ Zermatt / Matterhorn _ In the midst of 38 4000

In the midst of 38 4000

Zermatt was discovered in the middle of the 19th century, in the golden age of high alpinism. Almost one-third of all the 4,000 metre peaks in the Alps are grouped around the village, which has been visited by mountaineers from all around the world since the first ascent of the Matterhorn in the year 1865. A myth was born at that time: the names of Zermatt and the Matterhorn became known all around the world, and Zermatt was regarded as the Mecca of the mountaineers.

And it has remained so up to the present day: more than 3,000 alpinists climb the Matterhorn every year, which is several time more than all the other 37 summits combined. But every summit around Zermatt has its individual character, its history, its myths. Learn about all our beautiful mountains on this page!


The Weisshorn above Randa is considered to be one of the most important 4,000-metre mountains of the Alps. Although the Weisshorn cannot start to compete with the Matterhorn in terms of appearance, the mountain is relatively free-standing, and, with its three ridges and faces, forms a regular pyramid shape, which is actually higher than the Matterhorn. The 150th anniversary of its first ascent occurs in 2011.
more >>


The Zinalrothorn lies between the Nikolai Valley and the west-facing Val d'Anniviers, only a few kilometres from the Weisshorn and the Dente Blanche. Its distinctive summit extends diagonally into the landscape, and the rock is of very good quality. The Zinalrothorn is a classic mountain for Alpine climbing with a difficulty of Level 3, which means: the climbing routes are not yet perpendicular and the holding points are very large. The Rothorngrat Ridge (South-west Ridge) is regarded as one of the best rock climbs in the Zermatt area.
more >>


The Zumsteinspitze at 4,563 m.a.s.l is the third highest summit of the Monte Rosa massif and stands both on Swiss and Italian soil. It lies between the Dufourspitze and the Signalkuppe, separated by the Grenzsattel 4,453 m.a.s.l and the Colle Gnifetti 4,453 m.a.s.l.. It was first climbed for scientific reasons when the Monte Rosa massif was still totally unknown.
more >>



Zermatt Tourismus | Tel +41 27 966 81 00 | info@zermatt.ch

Sprache: Deutsch
Zermatt. No matter what
 

*Zermatt / Matterhorn

Sie sind hier: _ Home _ Zermatt / Matterhorn _ Inmitten 38 4tausender

Inmitten 38 4tausender

Entdeckt wurde Zermatt Mitte des 19. Jahrhunderts, im Zeitalter des Hochalpinismus. Fast ein Drittel aller 4000er der Alpen gruppieren sich um das Dorf, das seit der Erstbesteigung des Matterhorns im Jahre 1865 von Bergsteigern aus aller Welt besucht wird. Damals wurde ein Mythos geboren: Zermatt und Matterhorn, diese Namen gingen um die Welt und begründeten den Ort als Mekka der Bergsteiger.

Das ist Zermatt bis zum heutigen Tag geblieben: Mehr als 3000 Alpinisten im Jahr besteigen das Matterhorn, ein Vielfaches mehr die anderen 37 Gipfel. Doch jeder der Gipfel rund um Zermatt hat seine Eigenart, seine Geschichte, seinen Mythos. Lernen Sie auf dieser Seite all unsere Berge kennen!


Das Weisshorn oberhalb von Randa gilt als einer der wichtigsten 4000er der Alpen. Zwar kann das Weisshorn von der Form her nicht mit dem Matterhorn konkurrieren, jedoch ist der Berg relativ freistehend, und bildet mit drei Graten und Wänden eine ebenmässige Pyramide, die das Matterhorn sogar überragt. Im Jahr 2011 steht das 150-jährige Jubiläum der Erstbesteigung an.
mehr >>


Das Zinalrothorn liegt zwischen Nikolaital und dem westlich gelegenen Val d'Anniviers, nur wenige Kilometer von Weisshorn und Dente Blanche entfernt. Sein markanter Gipfel ragt schräg in die Landschaft, der Fels ist von sehr guter Qualität. Das Zinalrothorn ist ein klassischer alpiner Klettergipfel, der Schwierigkeitsgrad liegt bei Stufe 3, das heisst: Die Kletterrouten sind noch nicht senkrecht und die Haltepunkte recht gross. Der Rothorngrat (Südwestgrat) gilt als einer der schönsten Felsanstiege in der Gegend von Zermatt.
mehr >>


Die Zumsteinspitze ist ein 4'563 m ü.M. hoher Grenzgipfel und dritthöchster Gipfel des Monte Rosa-Massivs, auf italienischem und schweizerischem Gebiet gelegen. Sie liegt zwischen der Dufourspitze und der Signalkuppe, getrennt durch den Grenzsattel 4453m und Colle Gnifetti 4453m. Sie wurde zu einem frühen Zeitpunkt, und zwar aus wissenschaftlichen Gründen bestiegen, als das Monte Rosa-Massiv noch gänzlich unbekannt war.
mehr >>



Zermatt Tourismus | Tel +41 27 966 81 00 | info@zermatt.ch