Language: English
Zermatt. No matter what
 
You are here: _ Home

Scientific research: Matterhorn under close observation

The Matterhorn, local name “Hore”, is in motion. In 2003, rockslides from the Hörnligrat ridge attracted international attention. The Matterhorn has long been under scientific observation. Scientists state that rockslides have always been a possibility and are keeping an eye on the mountain of mountains in order to understand the mechanisms at work.

Andreas Hasler from the Geographical Institute in Zurich says: “If spring and summer are as warm in 2012 as in 2003, with similar weather conditions the events of 2003 could well be repeated.” In plain language, there could be more rockslides on the Hörnligrat. On 15 July 2003, around 1000 cubic metres of rock came down. Over 90 mountain climbers had to be helicoptered off the mountain and the climbing route was closed for several days. The rock mass of 1000 cubic metres is equivalent to a cube with a size of 10 x 10 x 10 metres.

The “Hore” under close observation
For several years, a network of wireless sensors has been supplying data on rock movement on the Matterhorn. Researchers from the National Centre of Competence in Research «Mobile Information and Communications Systems» (NFS MICS) are now publishing their findings, which are helping to better understand rockslides and monitor risk zones in areas of permafrost.

In its media release of 27 March 2012, the SNSF (Swiss National Science Foundation) goes into detail about the mechanisms. The Alpine landscape will undergo great transformation in coming decades as a result of global climate change. The glaciers will recede even further and the number of rockslides must be expected to rise. Experts have been recording an increase in such events in the Alps for several years. This applies in particular to areas of permafrost, where the bedrock is permanently frozen. A rockslide occurred on the Hörnligrat ridge of the Matterhorn in the hot summer of 2003. Inspection of the breakaway point showed that the rockslide had exposed various frozen fissures. A team of researchers around Stephan Gruber from Zurich University thus took a more in-depth look at the unstable area on the Matterhorn.
In summer 2007, Gruber’s group, together with scientists from Basel University and the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology in Zurich, installed a network of wireless sensors on the Hörnligrat ridge. This was within the framework of the PermaSense project by the National Centre of Competence in Research «Mobile Information and Communications Systems» (NFS MICS) and also funded by the Swiss Federal Office for the Environment. The network allowed researchers to measure rock movement in the various fissures over several years. The researchers state that they determined a complex pattern of movement apparently influenced by two factors. When the rock warms in summer, it expands and closes the fissures. When the rock cools again in autumn, it contracts and the fissures reopen. This expansion and contraction gradually changes the geometrical arrangement of the fissure, with the result that over a period of time, the rock loosens.

“The measurement data of recent years gives us valuable information to better understand the processes in areas of permafrost,” says Stephan Gruber. “It will help us with the long-term and targeted monitoring of danger zones.” That frozen rock tends to be less stable in warmer temperatures is an obvious hypothesis. “But we still only know the basics of what is taking place underground.”

Consult local experts
For any Alpine expedition on the Matterhorn to be made in safety, it is advisable to obtain information from the Alpin Center. The local guides are experts on the Matterhorn. They can guarantee the greatest possible degree of safety for their guests; they know the routes and the risks of sudden changes in the weather and rockslides.

Zermatt Tourismus | Tel +41 27 966 81 00 | info@zermatt.ch

Sprache: Deutsch
Zermatt. No matter what
 
Sie sind hier: _ Home

Wissenschaftliche Forschung: Das „Hore“ unter genauer Beobachtung

Das Matterhorn bewegt sich. Als 2003 Felsstücke vom Hörnligrat fielen, hat das internationales Aufsehen erregt. Das Matterhorn steht seit Jahren unter wissenschaftlicher Beobachtung. Felsstürze wären immer wieder möglich, konstatieren die Wissenschaftler. Um die Mechanismen zu verstehen, behalten sie den Berg der Berge im Auge.

Andreas Hasler vom Geographischen Institut in Zürich sagt: „Wenn im Jahr 2012 Frühling und Sommer wieder so heiss sind wie im Jahr 2003, könnten sich bei vergleichbaren Wetterverhältnissen auch die Ereignisse von 2003 wiederholen.“ Im Klartext heisst das: Es könnten wieder Felsen vom Hörnligrat stürzen. Am 15. Juli 2003 fielen rund 1000 Kubikmeter Fels hinunter. Es mussten über 90 Bergsteiger per Helikopter vom Berg evakuiert werden, und die Kletterroute war für mehrere Tage gesperrt. Die Felsmasse von 1000 Kubikmetern entspricht einem Kubus mit rund 10 Metern Grundriss.

Genau beobachtetes „Hore“
Ein Netzwerk von drahtlosen Sensoren liefert schon seit einigen Jahren Daten über die Felsbewegungen am Matterhorn. Nun veröffentlichen Forschende des Nationalen Forschungsschwerpunkts «Mobile Informations- und Kommunikationssysteme» (NFS MICS) ihre daraus gewonnenen Erkenntnisse. Sie helfen, Felsstürze besser zu verstehen und Gefahrenzonen in Permafrostgebieten zu überwachen.

In seiner Medienmitteilung vom 27. März 2012 geht der SNF (Schweizerischer Nationalfonds) näher auf die Mechanismen ein: Das Landschaftsbild der Alpen wird sich in den kommenden Jahrzehnten aufgrund der globalen Klimaveränderung stark wandeln. Die Gletscher ziehen sich weiter zurück, es ist auch mit vermehrten Felsstürzen zu rechnen. Bereits seit einigen Jahren stellen Experten eine Zunahme solcher Ereignisse in den Alpen fest. Dies gilt insbesondere in Gebieten mit Permafrost, in denen der felsige Untergrund dauerhaft gefroren ist. Auch am Hörnligrat des Matterhorns ereignete sich im Hitzesommer 2003 ein Felsabbruch. Bei der Besichtigung der Abbruchstelle zeigte sich, dass der Felsabsturz verschiedene vereiste Klüfte freigelegt hatte. Eine Forschergruppe um Stephan Gruber von der Universität Zürich nahm daher das instabile Gebiet am Matterhorn genauer unter die Lupe.
Im Rahmen des auch vom Bundesamt für Umwelt geförderten Projekts «PermaSense» des Nationalen Forschungsschwerpunkts «Mobile Informations- und Kommunikationssysteme» (NFS MICS) hat Grubers Gruppe zusammen mit Wissenschaftlern der Universität Basel und der Eidgenössischen Technischen Hochschule Zürich im Sommer 2007 ein Netzwerk von drahtlosen Sensoren beim Hörnligrat installiert. Dadurch konnten die Forschenden die Felsbewegungen an verschiedenen Klüften über mehrere Jahre hinweg messen. Wie die Forschenden beschreiben, stellten sie dabei ein komplexes Bewegungsmuster fest, das offenbar durch zwei verschiedene Faktoren geprägt wird. Wenn sich im Sommer das Gestein erwärmt, dehnt es sich aus, so dass sich die Klüfte im Fels schliessen. Kühlt das Gestein im Herbst wieder ab, öffnen sich auch die Klüfte wieder. Dieses Auf und Zu verändert nach und nach die geometrische Anordnung der Klüfte in der Tiefe, so dass sich der Fels mit der Zeit auflockert.

«Die Messdaten der letzten Jahre liefern uns wertvolle Informationen, um die Vorgänge in Permafrostgebieten besser zu verstehen», sagt Stephan Gruber. «Sie helfen uns, in der Zukunft längerfristig und gezielt Gefahrenzonen zu überwachen.» Dass gefrorener Fels bei wärmeren Temperaturen tendenziell instabiler werde, sei zwar eine naheliegende Hypothese. «Doch was sich im Untergrund abspielt, wissen wir nach wie vor erst ansatzweise.»

Einheimische konsultieren
Damit alpine Abenteuer am Matterhorn sicher angegangen werden können, ist es ratsam, sich beim Alpin Center Informationen einzuholen. Die einheimischen Bergführer sind Experten am Matterhorn. Sie können die grösst mögliche Sicherheit für ihre Gäste gewähren, kennen die Routen und die Gefahren von Wetterumstürzen und Steinschlägen.

Zermatt Tourismus | Tel +41 27 966 81 00 | info@zermatt.ch