Language: English
Zermatt. No matter what
 

*In the midst of 38 4000

Bishorn (4,153 m.a.s.l.)

The Bishorn is located above Zinal and, together with the Diablons, forms the north end of the Dent-Blanche nappe. It is in the immediate vicinity of the Weisshorn, and has two summits. From the West Summit, there is an impressive view of the Weisshorn Ridge, of which the Bishorn is an extension. The ascent from the Cabane de Tracuit via the North-west Flank to the East Ridge is regarded as being one of the easiest 4,000-metre routes in the Alps. 

Origin of the name 
We are looking for the origin of the name of this mountain. Send us a story about the origin of the name, and, with a bit of luck, you could win an evening meal in Zermatt to the value of CHF 150.--! The best story among all those submitted will be the winner. One attempt per participant only. E-Mail: valerie.perren@zermatt.ch

History / legends 
“The happiness that the mountains give their loyal followers is a very special thing; it cannot be forced. But anyone who feels this happiness will be forever under the spell of the mountains. They make him infinitely rich, and I also believe that he can never be completely poor again!” These are the words of Eleonore Noll-Hasenclever (1880 – 1925), describing the attraction of the Bishorn. The successful German lady mountaineer is buried in Zermatt, having lost her life in the descent from the Bishorn. Her gravestone can be found in the Mountaineers’ Cemetery in Zermatt. She was taught the fundamentals of alpinism by Alexander Burgener from Saas Fee, who was probably the most popular mountain guide of the Belle Époque. She climbed the Matterhorn eight times, and a total of 21 4,000-metre summits. Eleonore Noll-Hasenclever wrote a number of books about her experiences in the Alps, including “The Ascent of the Dôme de Rochefort over the Aiguille de Rochefort and the Mont Mallet” and “In den Saaser Bergen (In the Saas Mountains)”. Her memoirs were published in 1932 under the title “Under the Spell of the Mountains (Den Bergen verfallen)”. 

Height

4,153 m.a.s.l.

First climbed

18th August 1884

First climbed by

G.S. Barnes, R. Chessyre-Walker, Joseph Imboden, J.M. Chanton


Information for hikers

Different hiking tips with a view of the mountain

Part of the Europaweg Trail from Sunnegga to the Europahütte cabin

Mountain cabins en route / picnic opportunities

Sunnegga, Europaweg cabin, Europahütte cabin

Mountain railway offers

Prices

Information for excursions

Information about the various peaks

You have the best view of the Bishorn from the Sunnegga
With the Sunnegga Express Zermatt – Sunnegga - Zermatt

Short, easy walks or hike

Sunnegga - Tuftern - Sunnegga

Information for mountaineers / alpinists

Valley location

Zinal (1,675 m.a.s.l.)
Gruben (1,822 m.a.s.l.)

Starting point

Cabane de Tracuit (3,265 m.a.s.l.)
Turtmannhütte cabin (2,519 m.a.s.l.)

Various routes

The starting point for the normal route over the North-west Flank is the Cabane de Tracuit (3,265 m), which can be reached from Zinal (1'675 m). Crossing the Bishorn via the normal route and the South-west Ridge to the Weisshorn Col is the best ascent to the Weisshorn North Ridge. In the spring, you can climb almost all the way to the summit of the Bishorn on skis using the normal route.

North-west side

  • Difficulty: L, I (French scale: F; with I. UIAA-level rock climbing)
  • Duration: 2½ hours
  • Starting point: Cabane de Tracuit (3,265 m)
  • Valley location: Zinal (1,675 m)

North-east Face

  • Difficulty: S, IV (French scale: D; with IV. UIAA-level rock climbing)
  • Duration: 8 hours
  • Starting point: Turtmannhütte cabin (2,519 m)
  • Valley location: Gruben (1,822 m)

Refreshment areas / mountain cabins

Cabane de Tracuit (3,265 m.a.s.l.)
Turtmannhütte cabin (2,519 m.a.s.l.)



Zermatt Tourismus | Tel +41 27 966 81 00 | info@zermatt.ch

Sprache: Deutsch
Zermatt. No matter what
 

*Inmitten 38 4tausender

Bishorn (4'153 m ü.M.)

Das Bishorn befindet sich oberhalb von Zinal und bildet zusammen mit den Diablons den Nordrand der Dent-Blanche-Decke. Es befindet sich in unmittelbarer Nähe des Weisshorns und ist zweigipfelig. Vom Westgipfel hat man einen eindrucksvollen Blick auf den Weisshorngrat, dessen Verlängerung das Bishorn darstellt. Die Besteigung von der Cabane de Tracuit über die Nordwestflanke zum Ostgrat zählt zu den leichtesten Viertausenderrouten der Alpen.

Namensherkunft

Wir suchen die Namensherkunft von diesem Berg. Schicken Sie uns eine Geschichte über die Herkunft des Namens und mit ein bisschen Glück gewinnen Sie ein Abendessen in Zermatt im Wert von CHF 150.--! Unter allen Einsendungen gewinnt die beste Geschichte. Eine Gewinnchance pro Teilnehmer.
E-Mail: valerie.perren@zermatt.ch

Geschichte / Sage

„Um das Glück, das die Berge ihren Getreuen schenken, ist es ein eigen Ding; es lässt sich nicht erzwingen. Wer aber je dieses Glück empfunden, der ist den Bergen für immer verfallen. Sie machen ihn unendlich reich, und ich glaube, er kann nie wieder ganz arm werden!“ Es ist Eleonore Noll-Hasenclever (1880 – 1925), die uns das Bishorn näherbringt. Die erfolgreiche deutsche Bergsteigerin liegt in Zermatt begraben. Sie ist beim Abstieg vom Bishorn ums Leben gekommen. Ihr Grabstein befindet sich auf dem Bergsteigerfriedhof in Zermatt. Die Grundlagen des Alpinismus hatte Ihr Alexander Burgener aus Saas-Fee vermittelt, dem wohl populärsten Bergführer der Belle Épogue. Sie bestieg 21 4'000er und acht Mal das Matterhorn. Eleonore Noll-Hasenclever verfasste mehrere Bücher über ihre alpinistischen Erfahrungen, darunter „Die Besteigung des Dôme de Rochefort über die Aiguille de Rochefort und des Mont Mallet“ und „In den Saaser Bergen“. 1932 erschienen ihre Memoiren unter dem Titel „Den Bergen verfallen“.

Höhe

4‘153 m ü.M.

Erstbesteigung

18. August 1884

Erstbesteiger

G.S. Barnes, R. Chessyre-Walker, Joseph Imboden, J.M. Chanton


Informationen für Wanderer

Verschiedene Wandertipps mit Sicht auf den Berg

Teil des Europaweges von Sunnegga zur Europahütte

Hütten auf dem Weg / Picknick

Sunnegga, Europaweghütte, Europahütte

Bergbahnen-Angebote Preise

Informationen für Ausflügler

Infos über die verschiedenen Peaks

Von der Sunnegga hat man die schönste Sicht auf das Weisshorn.
Mit der Sunnegga Express Zermatt - Sunnegga - Zermatt

Kurze, einfache Spaziergänge oder Wanderungen

Sunnegga - Tuftern - Sunnegga

Informationen für Bergsteiger / Alpinisten

Talort

Zinal (1'675 m ü.M.)
Gruben (1'822 m ü.M.)

Ausgangspunkt

Cabane de Tracuit (3'265 m ü.M.)
Turtmannhütte (2'519 m ü.M.)

Verschiedene Routen mit Schwierigkeitsgrad und Dauer

Ausgangspunkt für den Normalweg über die Nordwestflanke ist die Cabane de Tracuit (3'265 m ü.M.), erreichbar von Zinal (1'675 m ü.M.). Die Überschreitung des Bishorns über den Normalweg und den Südwestgrat zum Weisshornjoch bildet den besten Zustieg zum Weisshorn-Nordgrat. Im Frühling kann mit Ski über den Normalweg bis fast zum Gipfel des Bishorns aufgestiegen werden.

Nordwestflanke

  • Schwierigkeit: L, I (Frz. Skala: F; mit I. UIAA-Grad Felskletterei)
  • Zeitaufwand: 2½ Stunden
  • Ausgangspunkt: Cabane de Tracuit (3'265 m ü.M.)
  • Talort: Zinal (1'675 m ü.M.)

Nordostwand

  • Schwierigkeit: S, IV (Frz. Skala: D; mit IV. UIAA-Grad Felskletterei)
  • Zeitaufwand: 8 Stunden
  • Ausgangspunkt: Turtmannhütte (2'519 m ü.M.)
  • Talort: Gruben (1'822 m ü.M.)

Verpflegungsstellen /
Berghütten

Cabane de Tracuit (3'265 m ü.M.)
Turtmannhütte (2'519 m ü.M.)



Zermatt Tourismus | Tel +41 27 966 81 00 | info@zermatt.ch